I Can’t Believe What I Saw on the Oscars!

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2018
Kelly Ripa on the Oscars red carpet. Illustration by Mike Brennan.

Spoiler alert: If you DVR’d the 2018 Academy Awards and haven’t watched them yet, this is your warning.

One of my favorite moments from 2018’s 90th Academy Awards show was when host Jimmy Kimmel announced the need to thank the people who truly make all the awards and accolades possible — the movie goers! He said “I don’t just want us to clap, applause is nice, but I really want to thank them.” He then proceeded to take a motley band of stars (Including Gal Gadot, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Mark Hamill, Lupita Nyong’o, Emily Blunt, Ansel Elgort, Armie Hammer, Margot Robbie and Guillermo del Toro) all decked out in their Oscar best to the TCL Chinese Theatre across the street where an unsuspecting audience was watching a preview screening of the movie “A Wrinkle in Time.”

The audience didn’t know that the theater was equipped with cameras, nor that these hollywood stars were waiting to greet them complete with candy and hotdog cannons. I loved the moments it created when the room burst into excitement. I’m sure those moviegoers will never forget that WOW experience. And it was all apart of the Oscars!

It’s easy for content makers and creators to be so absorbed in their process and own culture that they forget to really thank the people who they need the most — the fans and patrons!

So I wanted to take a moment to thank you all for your continued support and patronage of my art. Without you, I would just have a warehouse filled with art that never enriched anyone else’s life.

Having you as part of my community is better than any award! Thank you!

If you would like to see more of my red carpet sketches or see the video of the events described above visit my site.

--

--

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing

Visual artist. I create Rock Star Pet Portraits & Pop Culture art. Check out more of my work http://www.mikebrennan.me