Why I don’t change my profile picture during a tragedy

Megan Penmann
ART + marketing
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2015

I don’t often post to Facebook, because I find it to be generally full of content I don’t care a whole lot about, and it seems useless to add anything of my own to the pile. As a medium it’s flippant, and a statement about the irreverance of pop culture, full of “Which Game of Thrones Character Are You” quizzes, drunken evenings narcissistically exposed in photos, and postings about “life events” — marriage announcements for those close to you (who presumably already know that you’ve gotten married and probably witnessed your nuptials) and for the rest of the hundreds of people you barely keep in touch with as a reminder you’re doing just fine these days.

But I wanted to comment on the phenomenon of people altering their profile photos when a national or international event occurs.

The terrorist attacks on Paris are nothing short of horrific. By the very definition of terror, the idea that we could be going about our daily lives with the intention of having a fun night on the town only to be shot at with automatic weapons is more than unsettling. I get queasy when I think about that kind of thing happening to anyone I love, or to me. These aren’t crimes of passion, perpetrated by a solitary lunatic who’s been living in grandma’s basement and just couldn’t take it anymore. These are godless crimes, executed en masse, with the intent to harm innocent civilians to send a message of pure terror.

When we learn about these kinds of international tragedies, why is our first reaction to reach for graphic symbols as a show of solidarity? Why do we want to paste them on top of our profile pictures? It’s possible that pure iconography is so powerful here because we’re having a poignant moment where words fail us. Or in a less encouraging sense, it could reflect the continual emoji-fication of our culture and a constant need to alter our personal brand. Displaying symbols is one way to make a statement. But I’d like to believe that nearly everyone in my entire social network at minimum feels a sting for the Parisians affected by this tragedy. I’m pretty sure we can all agree that this shit sucks. So is it really that much of a statement if everyone around you agrees with you?

My heart goes out to all Parisians right now. But for me, changing a few pixels on my selfie or replacing my photo with something else feels blithe and oblivious. Shallow and inappropriate. “I changed my profile picture” so there, now I’ve done something. Congratulations, me. And these days, approval is measurable in Likes.

“Put a flag on it” is the political “put a bird on it.” It’s the thing to do. And you want everyone to know you’re on the level. If I changed my profile picture right now, I’d feel like a poseur wearing a Che Guevara t-shirt, unwittingly making a crass statement about a world I’ve never known first hand.

Perhaps adding an Eiffel Tower to my profile photo isn’t much different from New York lighting up One World Trade Center with the French flag colors. In doing this, NYC is sending a message to its citizens that “this aggression will not stand, man.” I’d like to keep hope alive that the lights on the spire of One World Trade, as a visual medium, carry at least a little more gravity than a Facebook profile picture. But in this modern world maybe my profile picture is equivalent to a personal flag or crest. So changing my profile picture would be like flying my own flag at half-mast.

As an art director, I’m acutely aware of the power of design. Jean Julien’s Eiffel Tower Peace Symbol mashup image is truly compelling, graceful in its simplicity and handicraft. It’s poignant, elegant and poetic. And as an advertising professional, I know that timeliness is next to godliness. The Eiffel Tower Peace Symbol hits the right notes at the correct moment. It’s trendy, it’s apt, it’s gone viral.

But I don’t change my profile picture for international tragedies because it feels inadequate and futile in the face of such a solemn situation. I want to do more, say more, but there’s nothing much I can do, really. And even now, after writing this, words are failing me. So I guess I’ll just use some hashtags: #vivelafrance #prayforpeace

--

--