If you want to start ‘reading’ in 2018, read this blog.

(Explains how to choose a book with a graph and secret passcode to join the club)

Chhavi Shrivastava
ART + marketing
3 min readJan 11, 2018

--

Don’t you absolutely hate seeing people on a metro or airport, with their noses deep inside the books. I hear some of them take book you are holding as a recommendation letter of you. And some treat their Kindle as a legacy that will pass on to their kids. I have tried reading before, but I don’t really think it might be my thing. But yeah, I won’t mind reading. 2018 might be a good year to start.

Well if this sounds even a teeny weeny bit on what’s on your mind as of now, I think I might be of a little help. You see, I was one of the lucky ones. I lived my era of Famous Five and Nancy Drew and then some Princess Dairies. And went on to live a few more of those great eras. I can go on about the books I fell after that, but it sounds like recounting all the relationships I have had. That should be another story. Let’s get to the matter at hand. How do you become a reader and have some relationships of your own.

I drew the graph below that might help you find you that one book, which will be your gateway to this club you are unaware and yet exists.

Disclaimer: All these books below are read by me in 2017 and do not bite. If you do end up reading one of them after this, do drop me a message. I love playing matchmaker, in my head.

If you did manage to pick one of the books, here are some of the pointers you need to know.

  1. Do not. Do not ever say you like reading, and then go on to say, “You have read all the Chetan Bhagat books”. Read the first two words again.
  2. Harry Potter is how we define our childhood. Most of us have memories of snuggling up these books on a chilly winter night. You do not tread this holy ground, without reverence for JK Rowling or Slytherins.
  3. Adding textbooks on GoodReads doesn’t count. Comics are allowed.
  4. Do add books on GoodReads. Even if we don’t talk, I like you because of that book review you wrote on GoodReads.
  5. Never catch a flight before scrounging the bookstore.
  6. Do not take a book from my hand to see, and give it back, opened on the wrong page.
  7. Gift books after stalking us on GoodReads. You shall be remembered forever.
  8. Now, go back to the graph above and pick a book if you didn’t in the first go.

Until next time,
Chhavi

PS: I made like GoodReads list of all the books I mentioned here. Feel free to message if you want helping finding an e-copy for yourselves!

--

--

Chhavi Shrivastava
ART + marketing

Writing relatable, non-fluffy stories on being a product designer. Senior designer @Bumble 🐝 Sharing behind-the-scenes at www.instagram.com/justchhavii/