It all goes back to this…

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readJun 15, 2018

Recently, I was watching a Netflix documentary about the toy company Funko (the makers of those popular bobblehead type figures). Throughout the documentary, they not only told the story of how Funko came to be, it was chock full of interviews from raving fans.

There was an overarching theme that rose again and again. The reason people were connecting (and collecting) these toys was a longing to return to simpler days as a child. It was a time when things weren’t so complicated or demanding, and much of their time was spend and influenced by things like Saturday morning cartoons, popular TV and movies, and their characters.

Can you relate?

I know I can. That’s my story. That’s why Star Wars (as well as others) holds such a special place in my heart. I spent countless hours not only watching those movies, collecting the comics book and toys, but also learning to use my imagination within the Star Wars universe.

A few of my actual Star Wars toys that I managed to hang on to.

And I know I’m not alone. Just look at the critiques of the latest Star Wars movies from fans. When you mess with something special that connects to someone’s childhood memories, people will respond passionately.

It’s nostalgia. We all know that word, but when you look at the definition, it really brings it home as to why people connect with toys (and art) from their childhood.

Nostalgia: a sentimental longing or wistful affection for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.

When we buy things associated with the characters and shows from our youth, we have physical reminders of some of the happiest moments we’ve had.

And that’s why I love creating pop culture art. Whether it’s Star Wars, Retro 80’s, or more recent fandom art like the Walking Dead, it’s connecting with things that speak to me, as well as providing a link to those who have shared the same experiences. And that’s my goal, to share experiences through art & design.

Feel free to grab an art print, greeting card or t-shirt to help bring a little piece of that childhood happy place into your world today. Visit my shop and see what speaks to you!

So, who’s your favorite character in the Star Wars universe?

Or if Star Wars isn’t your thing, what childhood toy or show brings you back to those special moments?

--

--

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing

Visual artist. I create Rock Star Pet Portraits & Pop Culture art. Check out more of my work http://www.mikebrennan.me