My first Blog… My journey of the making of my first Feature

Yolonda Ross
ART + marketing
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2015

--

ACTOR: My name is Yolonda Ross. Some of you may know me from various films, and television shows, and even a little theater. Well…I’m making my first feature. I thought I’d share this process with readers as I get a lot of messages from filmmakers, and actors, about “How to…” Well, MAN I DON’T KNOW. I’m in the same murky dirty waters as the rest of you creative people out there. From what I’ve found, there is no particular rhyme or reason on how actor’s get jobs, or how projects get made, besides it’s good to know somebody, be great at your craft, and know where you ‘fit in’, in this business. FYI don’t get this confused with 15 min. of Youtube or reality fame. They are definitely two different things, though the murky waters have started blending them together. Even with talent, I do struggle at times with the “social” aspect of the job. Being in the business for a good period of time and having notable work helps, but I can’t help feeling like an outsider many times. I didn’t come from Yale, or NYU, nor am I part of a Ben Stiller/Owen Wilson type of friendship that would result in constant work. There’s no one wrapping their arms around me and saying I’m one of theirs. I tend to stand alone and have been lucky enough to have some amazing people and projects come by. How does ‘being blessed’ translate when casting for parts takes place? Game Rules: “Name Value” trumps all. Realistically for people of color, it’s a different type of situation, but name value is still and always numero uno. On top of this, there is the tendency to clump us all together as one, though age ranges, types, and skill level vary. There are only a few of us that can get a show greenlit, or funding for a feature without excessive hoops to be jumped, and this inlcudes low budget as well. On top of this, maybe you fit into their scope of storytelling, maybe not. Lack of real opportunities to expand on my gifts and knowing I have my own stories, with my point of view to be seen and heard, are what got me to writing more. I know my voice and where it fits in. I feel ‘doing’, is the only way to fully learn, and grow in any field we pursue.

DIRECTOR: So…with that, a writer/director is born. This is my short, “Breaking Night”. https://vimeo.com/64079651

I thank my amazing team every time I look at it. I couldn’t have done it alone. It was a wonderful experience all the way around. During the Martha’s Vineyard African American Film Festival we had to write a biography for our shorts, from the beginning of the process to the end. I really enjoyed going back and writing about the process and remembering all the hectic areas in pre-production along with the unexpected leaps that we made in the nick of time. I plan on doing the same with my feature, but in current time. I will post on Sundays, to let you all know where my journey took me each week. I look forward to questions, thoughts, communication with filmmakers, fans, or anyone, who just wants to say hi.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

I am #YolondaRoss, a #black #woman #actress #director #writer, on a mission to uphold #BlackExcellence. #Blackfemaledirectors #Directedbywomen

--

--

Yolonda Ross
ART + marketing

Actress; The Get Down,Whitney, Go For Sisters, Lila & Eve. Writer/Director of Breaking Night, Lover of food & fashion; Upholder of Black Excellence