My Wife Won’t Ever Learn the Metric System So I Wrote Her This Song.

Bjorgvin Benediktsson
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2018

Love is usually not talked about as a problem of probability.

But if it was, the crazy random happenstance of an Icelander meeting a California girl in Madrid while studying audio engineering and then following her to Arizona to subsequently get married years later, would be about as likely as hitting the jackpot.

However, romance doesn’t come without its differences. In my case, it’s needing to learn an antiquated system of measurement when there is a more efficient solution available. One that’s used in almost every country!

So, being bilingual in both metric and imperial, as well as Celsius and Fahrenheit, I thought it would be fun to write a song about it.

This is the quirky song about the funny differences of a transatlantic romance.

This is an anniversary present for my wife Liz. It’s a song I wrote while we were dating in Spain and it’s taken me just shy of a decade to finally get around to producing it!

Special thanks to Dane Myers from Custom Tracks for all the help!

Lyrics:

You ask for pounds,

I give you kilos instead.

We have a different way of counting

the distance up ahead.

I screw up the recipes

because my measurements are wrong.

My kilos don’t count, and your miles are too long.

For you, twenty is freezing,

but for me, it is warm.

I’m the one that’s always shouting,

while you keep calm.

You have summer storms,

I have winter northern lights

I got Centigrade, you have Fahrenheit.

There’s nothing like a tiny little challenge

comparing, converting and the sort

Cause I don’t want to take the easy way out

A 20-minute recipe is not what I’m looking for

Aause you’re far too crazy for me

for me to not learn how to follow a recipe

For every quart I spill, or pound I measure wrong

I’m gonna make it up to you all life long.

Credits:

released April 4, 2018

Björgvin Benediktsson: Acoustic guitar and vocals

Jay Dolphus: Drums

Montez Garner: Bass

Matt Harris: Electric Guitar

Assel Jean-Pierre Jr: Organ

Justin Diaz: Trumpet

Produced by Dane Myers at Wholehearted Productions and Björgvin Benediktsson and Chase Welch at Icelandic Embassy Studios.

Amazing session musicians courtesy of Custom Tracks and Dane Myers.

Mixed and Mastered by Björgvin Benediktsson.

--

--

Bjorgvin Benediktsson
ART + marketing

I write about music, creativity, and entrepreneurship. My new book, You Get What You Give, is out now. Grab it here: https://geni.us/YGWYG