Starting a Podcast on Anchor

Carson Gibbons
4 min readAug 22, 2020

--

Bradley created the show logo with a student.

Back in September of 2019 my family took a vacation to the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colorado. It was a wonderful celebration of our late grandparents, who had frequented the Broadmoor as one of their favorite vacation destinations.

While there, my dad and I played 18 holes on the same course that Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson had won on.

Golf at the Broadmoor, September 2019

During the course of the round he asked me if I wanted to take over his business-focused podcast, The Next Level Show, as he was considering starting a new podcast.

After much thought and deliberation, I decided that I couldn’t identify what success looked like for the podcast as it transitioned from my dad to me, so I opted to keep an open mind and think of ways to create my own.

Launching the Podcast on Anchor

I recruited my college friend Bradley Colvin to start the Weekly Catch-up Podcast, a weekly show that debuts every Wednesday in which Bradley and I provide recaps on the notable happenings from our weeks, then compare notes on what’s occuring in pop culture, politics, current events, the news cycle and of course, whatever just popped up on Twitter Explore.

We launched our debut episode on September 28 of 2019 before we even knew what the podcast’s name was. We recorded 67 minutes of content, explaining to our “audience” that we didn’t know what we were doing and we would see where this goes.

Coming out of that first episode, we knew we wanted more. The only constant we decided on was to get together once a week and see if we had anything new to contribute to the conversation.

We record in a sound-proofed closet…

For the past 44 weeks, Bradley and I have consistently gotten together and talked life on the podcast. We boast a small, but rabid, audience comprised of family, friends, shared contacts and even folks we’ve never met. What’s transpired is a beautiful project driven by creativity and listener feedback, rather than arbitrary growth metrics and KPIs.

WeeklyCatchupPodcast.com

Podcasting using Anchor

I can’t express how seamless Anchor has made this process. We really didn’t need anything else to get started. Anchor provides great analytics tools that help us track our show’s growth.

Producing the Show

We bought two mics from Amazon.com:

We just plug the mics into my MacBook and record using Online Voice Recorder.

I upload the audio segments into Anchor and simply arrange them in the proper order.

I routinely download the completed episode from Anchor in M4A format and use Online Audio Converter to convert it to MP3. From there I load the MP3 into Audioship, which syndicates the episode to our YouTube Channel.

We’d welcome your feedback. My guess is that listeners that don’t know Brad or myself will find it harder to get into the show, but hey, I could be wrong. Drop us a line and give us a listen, we appreciate you in advance.

Show Resources

Weekly Catch-up Podcast Website: http://weeklycatchuppodcast.com Weekly Catch-up Podcast Twitter: https://twitter.com/WklyCatchupPod

Carson on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/carsongibbons/
Carson on Twitter: https://twitter.com/carsoncgibbons

Bradley on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bradcolvin/
Bradley on Twitter: https://twitter.com/HumbleBrvd

--

--

Carson Gibbons

Traveler | Podcaster | Director of Sales at Preciate.org Prev: @cosmic_js | carsongibbons.com | IG: @carsongibbons