Staying inside the lines is for sissies

Don’t let you keep you from going for what you want

Christine Denker
ART + marketing

--

It started when I saw this saying on the wall at Hutch, reinforced as I’ve been reading Sarah Knight’s, You Do You, and culminated with this purchase from Gage Huntley:

I honestly believe I spend too much time in life trying to stay inside the lines, and what does that do for me?

It keeps me from taking risks.

I don’t try new things.

I stay in my comfort zone.

I do the predictable.

I’m afraid of making mistakes.

In short, I’ve been a sissy.

But what does that mean?

I’ve taken the same road traveled over and over again. While that road has been safe, it has gotten stale. I have gotten stale, and I don’t like it.

Some might say at 50, I’m hitting an upper mid-life crisis. However, that isn’t it, and I have the insights of writers and publications I follow on Medium to thank for that.

Seriously.

My eyes have been opened to so many opportunities that are out there if I’m just willing to take that leap instead of dipping my toe in the shallow end of the pool.

If you’re remarkable, then it’s likely that some people won’t like you. That’s part of the definition of remarkable. Nobody gets unanimous praise — ever. The best the timid can hope for is to be unnoticed. Criticism comes to those who stand out.
Playing it safe. Following the rules. They seem like the best ways to avoid failure. Alas, that pattern is awfully dangerous. The current marketing “rules” will ultimately lead to failure. In a crowded marketplace, fitting in is failing. In a busy marketplace, not standing out is the same as being invisible. — Seth Godin

This seems to be an accurate description of my unremarkable life to this point. And, I’m willing to bet it resonates with you too.

People who are willing to put themselves out there are the ones who get noticed. They are willing to allow themselves to be criticized. Many times that’s how they grow and continue to take risks. If they fail, they reassess and move on to the next thing. They don’t crumple up in a heap and hide.

That’s who I’m striving to be. That person who stands out, who is no longer afraid to do something remarkable. It both scares and excites me…but mostly excites me!

The journey has already started.

I’ve been a person who has said, “I would really like to…” but then hasn’t followed through. I’m done being that person.

I’m now that person who is in the final stages of writing and independently publishing Slices of Life from the Little Blue Desk, a collection of essays on everyday life experiences and what we can learn from them.

I’m the person who has convinced her husband to sell our home in the spring, move to a much bigger city, and downsize to a villa that is less than half the size of what we currently live in.

I continue to minimize my possessions to only have what I absolutely need and use. I’m a work in progress.

I’m making aggressive decisions to pay down personal debt.

I’m looking at different job opportunities where I can make a greater contribution.

I’m tired of staying inside the lines.

And this is just the beginning.

Thanks for taking the time to read this piece! I’m an elementary school counselor by day, and I writer 24/7. I love to write about everyday experiences and what we can learn from them. My goal is to add value through simple living and positive vibes. Let’s connect more! Check out my blog, Everyday Life Uncluttered and subscribe to my newsletter here.

--

--

Christine Denker
ART + marketing

Podcaster, Writer, Adventure Seeker, and Educator. Always pursuing my true North.