The Ending of the Day

RobinB Creative
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2017

“Rage, rage against the dying of the light”

I started writing a post about becoming a Top Writer in Creativity on Medium. It was going pretty well, but I just couldn’t bring myself to make that my post for the week. (I may publish that next week)

You see, during the past week, three people in my extended circle of acquaintance, have died. All three of them were young. Two of them were about the same age as my daughter. In fact, one of them was part of my daughter’s friendship group, when we still lived in Cape Town.

The two youngest, got married the day before they died in a horrible car accident. The other was a happily married mom, with a young son.

All three of these people, and everyone around them, expected that they’d live a full, hopefully long life. No-one was thinking about death.

At this point I could go on and on about how we all need to seize today, because tomorrow is never guaranteed. But that is not what I’m feeling right now either.

The untimely deaths of Jayne, Rebekah, and Austin are not just the moral of a cautionary tale, told to make our lives better.

Right now, I just want to mourn their passing, along with all others who left us too soon, whoever, and wherever they may be.

The following poem is dedicated to all who have died too young, before their time, and before we were ready.

Dawn’s sun leaps up
Sends morning
Chasing after noon.

Afternoon,
Mourning
Morning’s demise,

Sees dawn’s sun
Descend
The vault of heaven

Into darkness.

Good night.

--

--