The Process is Art

Scott Torrance
ART + marketing
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2017

Earlier this week I was in the English Market in Cork, a venerable Cork institution that became a tourist attraction when the Queen of England made a visit to the market. Whenever I’m passing by I’ll pop in to pick up some fresh food.This day I was buying sausages and got into a conversation with the butcher about the meat content and he replied with that well worn phrase “everybody likes to eat sausages but nobody wants to know how they are made!”, in an almost condescending tone with the same look on his face I’ve seen every other person who has uttered this statement.

Quite the contrary I thought that’s why I’m asking. Years back, I actually got into a conversation with a butcher about how sausages were made and I am okwith it. However, I learned how chicken McNuggets were made and I’ve never eaten them since. I am a certified, card-carrying food snob. I want to know what’s going into my sausages. But more than sausages I love to know what goes in to the creative process.

I love to know how art is created, and I use art in the broadest sense here.

If you been following any of the content from Gary Vaynerchuk you will have seen a shift in his thinking towards documenting not creating. It all started with this chat with a teenager:

And for all the posturing on Instagram and followers of Gary I see very, very little of anywhere.

I 100% agree with his philosophy, but not just as a reason to be creating while you have little expertise, or as a means of documenting ones legacy. I actually love to see the process, to see the journey to the top, to see behind-the-scenes. I would lay down the same money again for a behind-the-scenes look at how some of my favourite graphic novels and books were created.

One of my most enjoyable reading experiences of late was reading The Grapes of Wrath in conjunction with Working Days: the Journals of The Grapes of Wrath. I was bouncing from book to book following chapter bychapter so that I was in the author’s mind as he was writing the chapter. To really sit with the author’s vulnerability and uncertainty not only about where the story will go but even whether he is a good writer and whether this will turn into a good book and regularly fearing that it wouldn’t. Joining him through the toils and realities of ploughing his way through. It is encouraging to know that even winners of the Noble Prize for Literature struggle with imposter syndrome.

I have stood in the Sistine Chapel, craned my neck and jostled with the throngs of elbowing tourists to stare up at masterpiece to years making amd it was impressive. I’d even go as far as to say memorable. However, hand on heart I can honestly say that I have gotten more enjoyment and learned more pouring over Leonardo Da Vinci’s notebooks and the sketches contained in them. I love the thinking that went into understanding the anatomy and lighting.

I prefer the Winnie the Pooh sketches to the fully rendered drawings that end up on screen or in books.

This is a snapshot of my process and in drawing I’ve found a true and genuine love for the journey over the destination. I genuinely love practicing and failing my way to improvement and for that I’m very grateful. I have reflected on this quite a bit recently and realised that if all I could ever do for the rest of my life was draw (and paint) and nobody ever saw one of those drawings I would be perfectly content.

Maybe the title should have actually been The Process Can be Art.

I know that enjoying the journey isn’t the same as sharing the journey, but damn it I want to see and I think some of you people do as well. If you are like me hit me up on Instagram and let’s connect.

I will be sharing the whole process as I create a Graphic Novel out of a Graphic Short Story I recently created.

--

--

Scott Torrance
ART + marketing

The misadventures of a mark maker | Showing how the creative sausage is made!