The TRUE and horrifying story of Thanksgiving.

Tevin Jones
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readNov 19, 2017

--

I remember growing up waiting for Thanksgiving a time to reunite with family and friends to spread love, eat good food, and be appreciative of everything.

I stopped being so enthusiastic about Thanksgiving when I found how somber it could be for others. I’m speaking in reference to some of the strongest group of people I know indigenous people and how frightening it was for them..

In school, we were taught to believe that Thanksgiving was a celebration of family, giving, and love but unfortunately the truth of the first Thanksgiving is scarier than we are taught to believe.

November 1621, was the date where colonists celebrated the genocide of 700+ women, children, and men. They were even serval reports that the colonists were so hungry that they ate native Americans for nourishment.

I’m not here to tell you to stop celebrating but I do ask that you don’t forget about our lovely indigenous brothers and sisters. So, please while you’re eating, and having a reunion or enjoying Black Friday deals honor the lives of the 700+ natives who were brutally murdered.

Thanks for reading! Please share this story and click that “👏” button so more people can see this article.

Follow me just click the links below

Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Spotify, Snapchat and Facebook

Subscribe to my Newsletter HERE

--

--

Tevin Jones
ART + marketing

Musician, marketer, graphic designer, & music lover. I use my voice to make a change whether it be through writing or music. | 📷: @hxppyraps | 👻: T-Mike239