There’s Something Sketchy About The Golden Globes (At Least For Me)

Mike Brennan
2 min readJan 7, 2019

--

I started something last year that I’ve found rather fun.

While watching awards shows like the Gold Globes or The Oscars, I decided to try my hand at capturing the fashion and style surrounding these award shows.

Instagram is a place ripe with photos of the latest who’s who sporting the latest styles.

Michael B. Jordan & Jameela Jamil at the Golden Globes 2019.

So as the awards show progresses, I look for some inspiration. It comes mostly in the beautiful (and sometime outrageous) dresses the celebrities don.

After I finish each sketch (created digitally on my iPad Pro), I post on Instagram and tag as many accounts as possible that I found associated with the original post.

Dakota Fanning & Lady Gaga at the Golden Globes 2019.

A byproduct (that I love) is that many of the people who are behind the scenes (hair, makeup, stylists, fashion designers) get tagged along with the celebrities that have become their canvas. I get to acknowledge those people behind the scenes, who are often invisible.

And every once in a while, those stylists (who have access to the celebrities) make sure the actors see those posts too. After all, you might not be able to reach the attention of the actor who has over 2 million followers, but you just might win the favor of the hair stylist who has a thousand.

Creative Director Ade Samuel sharing my art of Michael B. Jordan on her Instagram stories.

In the end, it’s just a fun way to mark the moment, and for me, to draw subject matter that I don’t really dive into that often. Hopefully everyone involved feels noticed and honored. Even if it’s only for a brief Instagram moment.

--

--

Mike Brennan

Visual artist. I create Rock Star Pet Portraits & Pop Culture art. Check out more of my work http://www.mikebrennan.me