“This is how you know you were born in the 0’s”

Trevor Fox
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2017

The average age that a kid gets their first cell phone is 10 and a half. When I was ten; I played baseball, I was learning how to play the drums, I was laminating pictures that I saved from Wikipedia over a 56k modem, on to tag board. I had a stupid bowl-cut with a part down the middle. I called my friends on the phone to see if they wanted to ride bikes. If I had a phone, would I even want to ride bikes?

These kids know how to find the sleeping face emoji better than they can use scissors. Seriously, think about that.

It’s even possible to search Google for emojis. I didn’t even know that until about a minute ago.

By the time these kids go to high school, your language class choices will be Chinese, Spanish, Javascript, and Go. You remember the first cool kid who took the class on back end programming. And yes, you are still going to have to know Javascript.

In a few years, you’ll get “This is how you know you were born in the 0’s” videos and “This is how you know you lived in California and your parents worked at Apple and you were born in 2007.” You don’t even need to share it, Facebook will know who of your friends will like it when its streamed to them.

Your parents want you to get into Stanford. They’ve been paying for it since you were born- actually since they froze the embryo. You don’t care if you train calls for Uber and accept UBC.

This video is almost a year old as I write this and that’s where they lost me.

--

--

Trevor Fox
ART + marketing

Amateur Philosopher, Hacker, Digital Analytics & Growth Marketing • https://tfox.us • @realtrevorfaux