Today I Started Writing Another Book

Nicholas Austin
ART + marketing
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2018
Image source.

No, stories don’t begin when you start typing them. Stories begin when pieces of the plot fall from the sky one-by-one like meteorites with trajectories all directed at a single target. But they are imperfectly directed. And in that imperfection there is beauty. Because they will mold the subject of their strike into something new.

Three books in, they’ve beaten me to a bloody pulp before. And to be honest with you, I love the pain. It’s an addiction I have no desire to kick. What it’s shown me is that when you change in a positive way, you influence everyone around you in a positive way.

Which brings me to today.

The difference between the start of the book 4 writing process and any of the other three is that my own heart is whole today.

When I started writing two years ago I was in search of myself. I am elated to the point of nirvana to say that somewhere along the way I found what I was looking for. It’s taken me until now though to see my writing and dedication to it for the impact it has had on people other than myself.

So I want to thank you.

If you’re reading this now and/or have read anything I’ve written in the past. Thank you. If you’ve never read anything I’ve written and are just one of the people who have told me that what I’ve been doing has inspired you. Thank you. If you’re doing what you love and I don’t even know you. Thank you.

It is my sincere hope that you will share with me how your own journey develops. If you do I swear I will be your biggest fan (or second biggest behind your mom). Either way though, I’m going to keep writing both for me and for you and I’m not ever going to stop.

And. Here. We. Go!

This is going to be the best book I’ve written so far, and certainly the best I can imagine myself writing at this moment. So buckle the fuck up, my friends. The next leg of this road has bigger twists, turns, vengeance, violence, family, love, pain, and happiness than ever before, all delivered as fast and furious as you can handle.

And I’ll keep you posted along the way but if you want to know how it feels to be at the beginning of this amazing process, here it is… My blood is warm. My insides are boiling. There is a raging fire there and a ferocious tenacity rattling my bones. I’ve said it before: I will write a story that’s adapted into a TV series. You will see my show on Netflix or HBO. I’m going to keep saying it until it comes true. This is just the next rung in the ladder. I’ll see you when we reach the top. :)

*

QOTD: Won’t you join me?

Thank you for reading and for everyone’s continued support for the Civilands series. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below, feel free to subscribe for more blog updates, and click here for free book giveaways, including best-sellers!

--

--

Nicholas Austin
ART + marketing

✍️ Author and Podcaster of the Civilands series 📍 Austin, TX 📚 All books and episodes ➡️www.nbaustinbooks.com