Wake up & get moving!

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readJul 20, 2018
Digital illustration: Mike Brennan

The following was originally something I wrote for a Facebook post, but it seemed to resinate with so many people, I thought I should share it to a broader audience.

I was in a conversation with someone this morning where they heard about my new Yoga art book. He was surprised this was the second book I self published this year (the first being Dear Snow), and mentioned how I was “really going after it.”

Here’s the thing…

…for the first half of my life, I showed up and worked hard, but I was always looking for someone to tell me what to do. Part of it was fear and needing parameters so I didn’t “mess up.” Another part, was lack of confidence in my own abilities, gifting and voice. It was much easier to live someone else’s dream. Until the bottom dropped out (and it always does when you ignore that inner voice).

It’s easier to coast through life and not take chances. And pat yourself on your back thinking you are doing the wise and prudent thing by avoiding risk.

But the truth is, you will never grow if you don’t risk. We all need to show up and try. Then try again.

It took some depression and painful experiences to wake me up nearly 10 years ago. As often is the case, difficulty can produce great things if we let it. I feel more alive and engaged these days than ever. I have a list of things I want to accomplish, and finally the fire in my bones to charge ahead.

Since embracing this vision, I have met a ton of incredible people, had opportunities that I couldn’t have thought to ask for, and most importantly, feel like I’ve connected with and helped more people along this journey.

Is it all easy & straight forward? Not by a long shot, but when you get clarity on who you are, why you are here and what you have to offer — it makes all the difference.

I have my hand in a lot of creative endeavors. And I have thoughts on even more (podcast? Online courses? Public speaking?… I think they’re coming in the next phases.)

My point?

If I can do any of these things, so can you.

And while I appreciate the accolades as much as anyone, a deeper reward would be knowing I challenged you to go do that thing you have always wanted to, but have been too afraid, too tired, too practically-minded, too zoned out… to do.

Wake up. It’s not just your soul that is waiting for you to show up, but a world that is desperate for what you have to offer, in the way only you can offer it. Now…

Go. Do. Your. Thing.

--

--

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing

Visual artist. I create Rock Star Pet Portraits & Pop Culture art. Check out more of my work http://www.mikebrennan.me