What Can Happen When You Become a Mad Scientist.

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2018
Digital Illustration by Mike Brennan

As a creative and entrepreneur, I’m always assessing what my next projects might be. I’ve been coached to think of my business more like an experiment rather than a baby. (Which is great because I’m done with diapers!)

This means scanning the horizon for the next initiative to launch. It comes down to piloting those new initiates and then pivoting, sometimes to new ideas and iterations.

Sometimes the ideas that come seem random. And other times, they come from combining pre existing ideas and presenting them in new or unexpected ways. (That’s why I love a good “mashup” — it takes something familiar and tweaks it).

That’s what happened with my latest initiative, Portrait Branding.

It was a little bit like being a mad scientist. (Minus the creepy organ music).

In one beaker, I have my custom pet portraits that I have been creating for a few years. In the next beaker, I have my custom yoga portraits. And in a third beaker, Graphic Design. Grab some dry ice for effect, throw them all together and jump back in a dramatic fashion.

I have taken the unique style of my custom fine art portraits and combined them with the decades of experience I have in graphic design. The result is a service that creates a brand and logo (for those in the Pet brand or influencer industry and Yoga/Health and Wellness industry) that is personal, and distinctly individual.

With Portrait Branding, you are the face & the heart of your brand, positioning you to powerfully connect with your audience in a memorable way. What you have to offer is special and uniquely you, and your brand should be too. In fact, that’s what every brand designer will tell you, but I make your brand actually YOU!

My process begins with crafting the one-of-a-kind fine art portrait. You (or your pet) are at the core of your branding from the very beginning. That Art becomes the foundation for creating a custom hand-drawn logo, as well as each asset of your brand. Every component presents a cohesive look that is completely all your own.

I provide everything you need with a few package options to choose from.

Examples of Portrait Branding for the pet industry and for the yoga/health and wellness industry.

If you’re interested in learning more about having a Portrait Brand created for your business or influencer brand, visit my website for more details.

And if you are a fellow creative, I want to leave you with a challenge: Become a mad scientist!

What current offerings or services might you be able to combine to create a new one?

You might have a few explosions along the way as you experiment, but a new creative breakthrough might be just within reach!

--

--

Mike Brennan
ART + marketing

Visual artist. I create Rock Star Pet Portraits & Pop Culture art. Check out more of my work http://www.mikebrennan.me