I Spent 8 Hours Each Day Learning SQL: Here’s What Happened

My Experience Before and After My Decisions

Nnamdi Samuel
Art of Data Engineering
4 min readOct 16, 2023

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

“Hey bro, you need to learn SQL.”

What’s SQL? I asked.

"Structured Query Language. Basically, a language for interacting very well with databases."

I was told this soon after I developed an interest in the data space. Before this time, I had made an attempt to learn the Python programming language. Coming from a non-tech background, I didn’t find it easy.

Guess what? I left it!

I was much more friendly with learning Microsoft Excel, then I moved on to learning Power BI. Because I enjoyed learning them, I stuck to improving my skills in them, thereby keeping myself away from SQL and Python, but little did I know that these tools would be inevitable.

Finally, I decided to roll up my sleeves and face SQL first, knowing it’s less technical than Python. I drew up my plans and was ready to learn. I browsed through YouTube and found some really good channels. I downloaded the videos.

For three months, I was ready to learn! I got MySQL installed on my local machine and began the journey. I spent at least eight hours each day. I began with the YouTube videos I downloaded and moved on to practising with SQLBolt, Mode, and then HackerRank.

Here are a few things that happened after this period:

Ability to learn Python with the “Possibility” Mindset

Coming from a non-tech background, learning Python was terrifying. I felt gaining mastery in it was far out of sight.

From the SELECT statement to the FROM statement in SQL, seeing all the columns in my table play out gave me a feeling of invincibility. I knew I could do more and make advances as I went. I moved on to using advanced statements in SQL, and my self-confidence levelled up!

After the stipulated time, I now believed I could do more. I began my lessons again in the Python programming language, and guess what? This time, it was friendlier. I realized professionals weren’t born with these skills; they were gained through consistent learning and practice.

There again, I went! I followed the same route as in SQL, visited YouTube, and bought some courses on Udemy to begin the lessons.

All of these gave me the feeling that, apart from Python, learning any other programming language was really possible!

A boost in Self-confidence

My background as a non-techie had a negative impact on my self-esteem. I saw every tool as very challenging. Finding my way around platforms or tools in technology required me to reach out for help even when I hadn’t made any attempts.

My confidence level grew with time, and I believed I could navigate through any platform and achieve small goals.

Suddenly, I felt I could do anything! I believed I could begin any project and actually finish it. When I hear of any new tool, I believe I could break through and find my way. The seemingly impossible tasks became possible.

This accrued over months, and I finally realized it, noting how far I’ve come by making the seemingly impossible decision.

Being more disciplined

Sitting for hours doing something I love doing was really interesting, especially when accompanied by the feeling of a deep sense of growth.

Seeing programmers sit for long hours was also another feat I felt was unachievable. Apart from my ability to sit for long hours before my PC, surfing the internet in order to satisfy my curiosity over certain concepts, facing seemingly giant tasks became a custom. Procrastination became a thing of the past.

This was born from my feelings about my little achievements and seeing how possible it was to carry out the activities I felt I couldn't do. The feeling grew and branched into other areas.

Increased level of interest

After three months of consistent daily learning, I loved SQL more and became more interested in playing with databases. This made me more curious to know more about the data space and the various roles in it.

There wouldn’t be struggles trying to develop a consistent learning habit of doing what one loves doing. For me, this is the product of finding interest in the data space. Even though a lot of sacrifices and discipline were involved, the process became more fun-filled, and I became oblivious to the sacrifices.

Finding interest in one’s career gives one an unbeatable feeling. This is a huge takeaway for me!

Conclusion

Sometimes, all we need is to make our first moves and face the "giants.” We can't tell how good we can be at a thing if we don’t make attempts to face it. This can sometimes be all we need to make the change we crave.

Thank you for reading! If you found this article interesting, do consider following and subscribing to my latest articles. Catch me on LinkedIn and follow me on Twitter

--

--

Nnamdi Samuel
Art of Data Engineering

Data Engineer💥Voracious Reader and a Writer || Chemical Engineer