“Continue” by the Author, Acrylic on Canvas

; And I Choose to Continue

Original Art by a Survivor

Joe
Art of JRB
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2018

--

Accepting depression is new to me.

I had depression in middle school, but have been fine since.

Until I wasn’t.

A Symbol; A Statement

A was going to jump, to fly one last time. But I didn’t.

Instead, I spent two and a half weeks in therapy. It was there I as pointed to The Hilarious World of Depression and an interview with Ana Marie Cox. This is when I learned of the unofficial symbol of survivors.

In writing, a semicolon is used when a sentence could be completed; but the author chose to continue. It is a pause, a near stop. But not the end.

The Semicolon

This inspired me to paint a piece that included it. So I did the next logical step: I googled it.

And I found some amazing tattoos, recovering pain, and confidence. And I found many that took the semicolon and transformed into birds, music notes, and color.

I found one similar to my final piece and enjoyed the color almost pouring out. It took that moment, that darkness and pulled out beauty and color.

From my own attempt, I could have chosen many ways to react upon release. I chose to paint. To write. To create.

You can buy this painting on my Etsy page.

--

--

Joe
Art of JRB

Husband, father, tinkerer. Writing about hardware product design, life, mental illness, art, and overall being a good person and making cool stuff.