One More Light by Linkin Park

How a song can impact our look on life

Joe
Art of JRB
3 min readSep 15, 2018

--

Whether the beats vibrate our soul or the lyrics tickle our feelings, music has a profound influence on us. But it’s not all love songs and dance music, here I want to share a song that speaks to my depression and strengthens me.

Here is Linkin Park’s One More Light, and if you normally don’t like Linkin Park, have a listen anyway as this is far from their typical. Below I will share my thoughts.

What Makes this Song Resonate?

I listened to a lot of Linkin Park growing up. Perhaps it was the raw rage and pounding beets that drew me in. But over time I lost interest in the screaming style of rock.

But a few weeks back, I was in a mood to listen to them, perhaps to reminisce, perhaps to feel some of that rage.

But instead, this song came on.

And I cried.

Not because I have lost anyone as close as the song sings of, but because I was almost that empty chair. I was one step from being one less light in this world. And I would have been missed.

Depression is a messed up feeling. I feel so alone at times even though I know, i know, that I’m not. But listening to this song reminds me of that in a way that simple words cannot.

I don’t really know why. Perhaps it is the contrast from the Linkin Park I remember. Perhaps it is the knowledge that this song was written for their band member who was murdered by his brain.

Perhaps I just needed to hear it at that exact moment.

Each Star is Precious

I couldn’t tell you how many times I have thought about my insignificance in this infinite realm of space and time. I enjoyed watching Nova and Dr. Who, but they also trigger my feelings of smallness.

But, as this song shows, each star, each person, is precious. When a star goes supernova, or even peters out into a white dwarf, it’s solar system is obliterated. It is just a tiny light disappearing from the sky. Planets are destroyed, frozen, and knocked completely from orbit.

And it goes further, neighboring stars and systems and comets are all affected by the change of gravity. Some may be minor shifts, others could knock their own planets into death spirals or into life producing zones.

For millions, billions even, of years, that “flicker” continues to affect all around it.

While we are not ginormous balls of burning gas, ponder this quote from Dr. Who:

Hey. Do you mind if I tell you a story? One you might not have heard.

All the elements in your body were forged many many millions of years ago in the heart of a faraway star that exploded and died. That explosion scattered those elements across the desolations of deep space. After so, so many millions of years, these elements came together to form new stars and new planets.

And on and on it went.

The elements came together and burst apart, forming shoes and ships and sealing wax and cabbages and kings. Until, eventually, they came together to make you.

You are unique in the universe. There is only one Merry Galel. And there will never be another. Getting rid of that existence isn’t a sacrifice, it’s a waste!

Dr. Who, The Rings of Akhaten

Take a moment and think about those who would be missing you. Who would be looking at your empty chair or wish they had known and could have done something.

Call them.

I hope this song gives you strength.

--

--

Joe
Art of JRB

Husband, father, tinkerer. Writing about hardware product design, life, mental illness, art, and overall being a good person and making cool stuff.