This Way, Back to the Grind

Danielle (Dane) Cadhit
Art of Online Business
3 min readMay 23, 2017

--

Good morning! After “May 2–4”, are you finding your way back to the grind? I know here we just had a Victoria Day long weekend and so Tuesday morning became the new “Monday”.

For some people the hustle never ends. One of the things I’ve been warned about when you decide to work for yourself and run a business is that your work time bleeds into everything else and you should rethink your choices if you can’t handle that.

I’ve been told by many entrepreneurs:
❗ ️There is no such thing as work-life balance.
❗ ️The concept of “free time” becomes a distant memory.
❗️ The pressure is ON to ALWAYS be 🔛.
❗ ️You just can’t turn it off.

I took this photo yesterday afternoon on my way out from brunch and the sign cleverly reminded me that I was heading back to my home office to get back to the grind. It started to dawn on me that I never actually left the grind to begin with and I began to feel nothing but deep gratitude for the lifestyle I was pursuing..

❇️ I am so grateful that I found the best business partner in my significant other who also happens to share the same significant ambition

❇️ I am so grateful that we get to have business brunch meetings and sip mimosas while we refine our pitch and product strategy

❇️ I am so grateful that no matter what we pursue I’m confident that our combined passion and skills will take us to greater heights

❇️ I am so grateful to have the best sounding board, support system, and source of motivation

❇️ I am so grateful that the grind follows us in whatever we do because this is the lifestyle we are choosing for ourselves and our future together. We really wouldn’t have it any other way

They were right in saying work-life balance is a myth in the pursuit of entrepreneurship. As long as you find a way to integrate your passion and purpose in your work and life, you’ll find it natural and thrilling to be on that 24/7 grind. In fact, even when I am practicing self care — meal prepping, mindfulness, journalling, and even a treat yo’self spa day, I believe that it’s all part of the same grind because you are taking care of the biggest asset in your business — YOU. Your life and your business DO bleed into each other and when it does, it’s magical, it’s authentically you, and your message stems from a place of purpose and truth.

Early in my career I worked 12+ hour days and burned out quickly helping someone else achieve their dreams. I was in it for the paycheque and didn’t share the same values and overarching goals. When you choose to build a lifestyle around YOUR dreams and follow YOUR true passion, you’ll never work a day in your life. I know that sounds totally cheesy and sounds cribbed from a Monday motivational poster, but today I really took that in and feel so grateful that it rings true.

Do you consider yourself to be always on the grind?
Let me know what you think in the comments!

P.s. If you want to hear more about my journey and want to tune in for more, follow me and subscribe to my newsletter below.

--

--

Danielle (Dane) Cadhit
Art of Online Business

systems + emergent strategy @ SheEO. toronto based creative + living room dj. exploring transformation of self + systems, regenerative economies.