Artist Statement

Parth Upadhye
Contemporary Narratives
3 min readSep 14, 2017

Bursts of intensity interrupt Parth’s meditative pace. Inevitably, he returns to the quiet contemplation with paint. A fusion of knives, spatulas, rollers, brushes, and clay-crafted tools are by his side.

Having entered the art scene in his late forties, he says that age makes him wiser, less risk averse and patient. “By the time you are my age, you have been there and done that. Techniques are exactly what they are: things to be mastered by repetition. What matters most is ‘process’. For me process is three verbs: inquire, reinvent and evolve. They capture what I do”, says Parth.

His process often starts with a shape or a color or a word. It initiates inquiry and exploration through research or more sketching. “As I proceed through inquiry, some semblances of conceptual maturity appear in my drawings and notes. When I feel I am ready, I create the piece or pieces.”

He claims he is constantly learning and evolving. That macro process, as he calls it, is made of countless micro processes.

I do not engineer a piece. It sounds very mechanical but when I paint I am spontaneous and often quick, almost gestural.

Based in Toronto, Parth sees himself as both spectator and actor in a changing society. He is fascinated by people and their stories. “Every person not only has a unique story but also a very unique perspective. I cherish this diversity, of course when it comes with mutual respect.”

In the early 90s he lived in Vancouver. He was deeply affected by the works of West Coast artists Bill Reid and Robert Davidson. “They were following some traditional patterns but were mostly creating a modern visual language using obloid shapes and positive-negative spaces…” He explored mixing their shapes with the detailed works of Nigerian artist and print maker Bruce Onobrakpeya whose work had inspired Parth’s pen and inks in the 80s. He admits he was studying Kandinsky and Escher at that time so composition, elements and are layout were very important.

During the late nineties I lived in New York, so Schiele, Picasso and German Expressionism were very accessible. I spent hours studying Dubuffet, Picasso, Kandinsky, Chagall … at the MOMA and Guggenheim.

Over the years he has expanded his influencers to include Rauschenberg, Twombly, Kahlo, Rothko, Os Gemeos, Richter, Kusama, Hockney, Hussain, Gaitonde, Murakami among others.

His work is conceptual but visually it is expressionist. As you engage with Parth’s artwork, the process of inquiry and reinvention will continue with you. His art practice invites you to inquire, asking: what do you see?

Inquire. Reinvent. Evolve

--

--