What It Feels Like To Write Jokes For The Oscars

A behind-the-scenes look at the world’s biggest awards show

The Academy
ART & SCIENCE
Published in
4 min readFeb 13, 2017

--

As we gear up for the Oscars on February 26th, we’re sharing an exclusive look behind-the-scenes through our “Making of the Oscars” series. In this post, Molly McNearney, co-head writer for Jimmy Kimmel Live!, discusses her experience working on the 89th Academy Awards.

What inspired you to become a writer?

I hated math and science so that was my first push towards writing. My fourth grade teacher Mrs. Cooper told me I was good at it. And I believed her. I really think that’s all it takes. Tell a kid they’re good at something and they’ll trust you.

How does writing for an awards show differ from late night?

When you write for late night, you’re writing mostly for the home audience. When you write for an awards show, you really want to connect with the people in the room. If you can make them laugh, hopefully the people at home will follow.

What’s the process for writing for the Oscars?

Jimmy is using all his Jimmy Kimmel Live writers. There are 13 of us. We are juggling a daily late night show AND preparing jokes and bits for the Oscars simultaneously. I really don’t know how Jimmy is doing it all. Many hosts before him have had the luxury of focusing all their energy on just this one big show for months leading up. We have to get our show on air every night. And then breathe for a minute, minute and a half, and then work on the Oscars.

We write a lot on the weekends. We haven’t seen the sun since November. We’re a very pasty group.

To say that Jimmy is “involved” would be a dramatic understatement. He is constantly writing material and punching up our jokes. He is invested in every part of the show. He really wants the whole show to be favorable, not just his hosting.

Inside the writer’s room.

Did you grow up watching the Oscars? Do you have a favorite Oscar moment?

Yes, the Oscars have always been appointment television. They used to have my undivided attention for the full three hours. Now I watch them and Twitter at the same time. The moment that stands out for me: 1999, Roberto Benigni’s colossal, joyful celebration accepting his award for Best Actor. I loved Life is Beautiful and his authentic reaction to winning made me really happy. I felt like, “Oh yeah. That’s exactly how I would react if I won. Like a crazy person.” I also enjoyed Julia Roberts’ acceptance speech in 2001 when she owned that moment and told the conductor who may play her off to “sit with that stick because I may never be here again.” Very Erin Brockovich of her. Power Move.

I really like watching these typically scripted people in genuine moments of surprise.

But nothing can really top Travolta botching Idina Menzel’s name. Watch that clip when you need a good laugh.

What do you think makes a great opening monologue?

We’ve been watching all the past Oscars and I think the strongest monologues are the ones that address the specifics of the movies and actors in the room—the observations everyone may not be aware they’ve made themselves. Connecting the dots for people. I think it helps the audience at home feel like they’re in on the jokes.

As a first-timer on the Oscars team, what are you most looking forward to?

I’m excited to just be there. It’s a huge night and it’s truly an honor to be part of it. Great. Now I sound like someone who’s about to lose an award.

Backstage at the Emmys in 2016.

How much of the show is prepared versus reactive?

I’d say 80% of it is prepared and another 20% will be reactionary and improvised. Jimmy really is the master of that. He wrote a lot of jokes on the fly at the Emmys and I anticipate he will again at the Oscars. We will be backstage, writing as we go. A few times at the Emmys he walked out and dropped a joke that none of us prepared for him or knew he would deliver. And killed. Making our jobs obsolete.

Look out for new “Making of the Oscars” posts leading up to the 89th Academy Awards on February 26, 2017.

--

--

The Academy
ART & SCIENCE

We are The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences and we champion the power of human imagination.