Making Paper from Invasive Species: Onion Grass

--

Onion Grass (also known as Field Garlic)

I returned to Farmscape Ecology Program for more weeding and learning from experienced gardeners. One of the things we pulled out of the garden today was Onion Grass, a native to Northern Africa, parts of the Middle East, and Europe. The long leaves made me wonder if they contained long fibers. Also, I wanted to try eating them. I love scallions, so I was sure I would like them, and apparently, they are rich in vitamins A and C, potassium, manganese, calcium, and selenium.

I threw both leaves and stems into the pot. They seemed soft enough after cooking for 15 minutes. I put them in the blender and poured them into the tub. I used a paper-making kit from Su Jae Paper.

Onion grass in the pot, and then in the blender

The first sheet came off nicely from the screen. For the second and third sheets, I added a bit of corn starch for fibers to stick possibly better, a tip I had seen on the internet. Seemed like it backfired, as this time the sheet was sticking to the screen too much, and I had difficulty removing it off the wet sheets.

Deckle and the sheet of paper, still wet.

Nevertheless, I managed to get three sheets to dry. I will let them dry slowly so the shrinkage won’t ruin the paper. I will check on them in a few days.

Onion grass paper waiting to dry!

I had to do all these outside on the ground instead of on the work table in the garage, as our garage has been taken over by these little people whose house is built cozily (and boldly) on top of our not-very-high ladder.

Robin chicks in the nest on top of our ladder

--

--