Making Pigment from Invasive Species: Garlic Mustard

--

Garlic Mustard, leaves, flowers, and roots

Anne, one of the gardening crews at the Farmscape Ecology Program (“Soil Sisters”!) pointed me to the purple roots of Garlic Mustard. I took some home to see if it could produce purple pigment powder.

Garlic mustard, originally from Europe and Asia, has become a very troublesome invasive plant across the Northeast, Midwest and Northwest of the United States.

The plant was introduced to North America in the mid 1800s for its herbal and medicinal qualities and as erosion control.

(via The Nature Conservancy)

I cooked the roots for 40 minutes. The dye that came out of the purple roots was, unexpectedly to me, vivid, clear green.

But the moment I poured the dye into the jar and added alum, the green water turned into a beautiful, clear ruby red like a flash. It was as if I witnessed magic for real. I was so surprised that I forgot to take a photo.

Then I added washing soda which turned the liquid back to green, though this time it’s softer, light foamy green.

I filtered this light green liquid to grind, and the result is macha-like green powder. Next step, test painting. Also, the robin children are growing fast. Hopefully I can get back to working in the garage soon.

Garlic Mustard pigment powder, and Robin children

--

--