Nothing to complain about

Artbeat.Reflections
Reflections
Published in
2 min readJul 3, 2020

Is it weird that I’m okay with this whole pandemic thing? I don’t mean to downplay it, obviously it’s a very serious problem and people are suffering. But it hasn’t been all bad.

We had time off. I spent some time with my family. I caught up on some research and other side stuff. I am satisfied in my relationships. I managed to study for my next rotations with the online materials and my own notes and now I’m ready to go back knowing more than I did before. I’m not super scared about COVID-19 because I know we’re going to be protected. I’m not worried about passing clerkship or residency. And I looked over some of the residency programs that I’m interested in, but it’s not like I prepared my whole CARMS or anything.

I feel like whenever someone asks you about how you’re doing you’re supposed to say something negative. The answer to questions about the pandemic is always to talk about how hard everything is.

But what if I’m okay? It sucks for people who are having a tough time, and I don’t mean to belittle anyone’s experience. But I wonder if most of us medical students are actually okay. We laugh about “resilience” but I see a lot of it in people and maybe that’s why we laugh about it.

I don’t know, I feel like I’ve wrote a lot already (once you start it’s hard to stop lol). I just wonder if it’s weird not to have anything to complain about. I am thankful though. Really thankful.

--

--

Artbeat.Reflections
Reflections

A place for medical students to reflect and share thoughts, emotions, and feelings in a safe space during the journey through medical school and beyond.