Alexandre Keto standing in front of his mural. Photo by Pascal DuBois

I Paint The Questions And Make The People Wonder

An Interview With Brazilian Artist Alexandre Keto On His Tribute Black Lives Lost To Racially-Driven Violence.

Published in
7 min readNov 3, 2020

--

“Alive with Us” / “Vivo com Nós” created by Brazilian artist Alexandre Keto is a tribute to some of the many Black lives lost to racially-driven violence and an imagination of the futures they could have had. This exhibition is presented in partnership with @artsbrookfield and is part of #CityCanvas — an initiative by @nyculture.

Alexandre Keto was interviewed by Pascal DuBois, ArtBridge’s Director of Communications and Development.

I carry this social aspect in my work everywhere I go, it doesn’t matter if I’m painting a mural, a show, or whatever; art is a tool to connect with people. -Alexandre Keto

You’ve done social projects across the globe on a large scale; what was the start of your career?

I got into art through social projects in my neighborhood in Brazil. A friend of mine came to my door and said, “Let’s go to this project teaching hip-hop culture.” I said, “Yeah, Let’s go.” I saw they were dancing break and doing graffiti, and it clicked with me immediately; I was, “I don’t know what it is, but I want to do it.” It’s important to say that I got into art through a social project and not a gallery or social media. I carry this social aspect in my work everywhere I go; it doesn’t matter if I’m painting a mural, a show, or whatever; art is a tool to connect with people.

Alexandre Keto sitting on a stool in front of his mural while holding a paint roller.
Alexandre Keto sitting in front of his mural on 6th avenue and 43rd street in Manhattan. Photo by Pascal DuBois

I was taught to do art to interact and engage with the community; there was never any other way.

–– Alexandre Keto

You’ve chosen to create art with a social message, was there ever a moment when you thought of making art for its own sake?

Ah, no. You’re doing this interview because of how someone taught you or how you watched interviews, the same way I was taught to do art was to interact and engage with the community; there was never any other way. I’ve had shows in Paris, New York, and Miami, but I’m still doing the social work. After I’m done with this project, I’m going to donate a wall to a community garden in Brownsville. I’m painting on 6th Avenue by Times Square, one of the richest places in the world, a place I can’t believe my art is at, and later when I’m done, I’m gonna donate a wall to the community; it's always about social work.

When I do work for the community, I don’t tell them what to do, I have an open mind, ready to listen. When it comes to street art, we have to allow them to express how they feel and listen to them, it gives them validation.

–– Alexandre Keto

You’ve decided to collaborate with various communities in the making of that art; why?

When I was in school, I never was interested in art. The art they were teaching me was too rich, elite, the kind of art that I didn’t feel represented and connected with me. How could I connect with the art that didn’t show people that looked like my family, the people in my neighborhood? There was no way to be connected. I realized that so many more kids would be interested in art if we taught them in a different way. I think we should listen to the community, get them involved with the art. When I do work for the community, I don’t tell them what to do; I have an open mind, ready to listen. When it comes to street art, we have to allow them to express how they feel and listen to them; it gives them validation.

Alexandre Keto applying paint on to his mural with his back turned to the camera.
Alexandre Keto applying paint to this mural on 6th avenue and 43rd street in Manhattan. Photo by Pascal DuBois

Our identity is African, we have to recognize it, understand it, respect it.

–– Alexandre Keto

You want art to be one more tool for knowledge in social issues; what do you want current and future generations to learn?

I want my art to be knowledge, knowledge to celebrate and respect our African heritage. Brazil has the largest African population outside of Africa, but the government/society doesn’t want to acknowledge it. We have a really European-centric society that tries to mold us to think everything from Europe is good and everything from Africa is bad. I want my work to show there’s nothing wrong with having African heritage; in fact, we must be proud of it. Africa built our county and culture. Suppose you think about Brazil’s positive things, the music, the food, the capoeira, everything you say that’s positive about Brazil comes from Africa. Our identity is African; we have to recognize it, understand it, respect it.

A painted representation of Trayvon Martin if he was still alive. The likeness is surrounded by tropical leaves.
A painted representation of Trayvon Martin if he was still alive. Painted by Alexandre Keto. Photo by Pascal DuBois

With this work, I want to show, they were not only a name, not only hashtags, but they were also a person, a real person that lived.

–– Alexandre Keto

In your previous works, you honor the Orishas; how do you want this work to honor Trayvon Martin, Sandra Bland, Michael Brown, and Agatha Felix?

Being an artist is the closest I can get to be free. I paint what I like, I paint what I love, or I paint what I would love to see, and I would love to see all of them alive. All of them had dreams and those dreams were stopped because some motherfucker decided to stop their lives. What people don’t realize is that their lives became a hashtag and stop being a life that was lived.

When you kill a person, you’re killing the whole family; it’s not just one person. When you don’t stop killing people, you kill their minds, they become afraid, they fear walking outside. With this work, I want to show, they were not only a name, not only hashtags, but they were also a person, a real person that lived.

Painted representation of Sandra Bland with her playing the saxophone surrounded by tropical leaves.
A painted future representation of Sandra Bland playing the saxophone. Painted by Alexandre Keto. Photo by Pascal DuBois.

As an artist, I can paint a reality that Black people can live their dreams and not worry about being murdered by a bullet from a cop. I don’t know if I’m effectively honoring them, but what I’m trying to do as an artist is imagine what they’d do with their dreams. What’s crazy, a few days ago someone made a line on the wall I was painting. People were upset that happened. What they don’t understand is society does that every day to real people, disregards them, X them out, draws a line on their lives. If they do this to people by killing them for no reason, of course, they’ll do that to a painting on a wall. I wonder how long the wall is going to last before someone tags it; it’s the same way, Black mothers, around the world wonder, “How long will my son’s life last?”

A painted future representation of Michael Brown with tropical leaves around him.
A painted future representation of Michael Brown if he lived. Painted by Alexandre Keto. Photo by Pascal DuBois.

I picked them because they were in different scenarios. One was in a car, the other one was on the block, one was in a wealthy neighborhood, and the other one was going to school. There’s no safe place, no safe scenario. People say, [to stay out of trouble] “you should go to school,” yeah, but she was going to school. So, where’s the safe place?

A painted representation of Agatha Felix smiling surrounded by tropical leaves and two brids.
A painted future representation of Agatha Felix smiling. Painted by Alexandre Keto. Photo by Pascal DuBois.

This piece's subject is deadly police brutality; how can art provide yet another enduring tool of awareness to these crimes?

I paint the questions and make the people wonder.

A full screen mural of “Alive with Us” / “Vivo com Nós”
The full and completed mural of “Alive with Us” / “Vivo com Nós.”

SANDRA BLAND

February 7, 1987 — July 13, 2015

Sandra Bland was a 28-year-old African American woman who was found hanged in a jail cell in Waller County, Texas, on July 13, 2015, three days after being arrested during a pretextual traffic stop. Her death was ruled a suicide.

TRAYVON MARTIN

February 5, 1995 — February 26, 2012

Trayvon Benjamin Martin was a 17-year-old African-American from Miami Gardens, Florida, who was fatally shot in Sanford, Florida, by George Zimmerman.

MICHAEL BROWN

May 20, 1996 — August 9, 2014

Michael Brown Jr., an 18-year-old black man, was fatally shot by 28-year-old white Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson in the city of Ferguson, Missouri, a suburb of St. Louis.

AGATHA FELIX

Date of birth unknown ––September 20, 2019

Agatha Felix was going back home with her mother in a van when she was shot in the back in Alemão, one of Rio’s largest favelas. She was sent to a hospital but died.

Alexandre Keto with a red overlay with the names of Sandra Bland, Trayvon Martin, Michael Brown, and Agatha Felix.
Alexandre Keto painting his mural on 6th avenue and 43rd street.

Please help us ensure that we can continue this important initiative by donating today.

DONATE

--

--

Pascal is a storyteller documenting his adventures in marketing, creativity, travel, and culture.