How Much Anger is Too Much? A Look A Killmonger

Destiny
Artful SCreaming
Published in
3 min readFeb 24, 2018

This is a continuation from last week’s post. I am warning you to not continue reading if you have not watched Black Panther. There will be spoilers. Again, IF YOU HAVE NOT WATCHED BLACK PANTHER, DO NOT PROCEED. The light is red is for you. However, if you have, I welcome you to my thought process about the “villain” of the movie.

You’ve been warned.

I have not be able to shake Killmonger’s last statement in the film, before his death. All throughout the film, this character was bold, spoke his mind, and literally went through hell and high water to reach Wakanda, the homeland of his father, whom betrayed his country in hopes of helping to liberate oppressed Black people in the U.S. (I mean, dude, really went on a killing spree to get to Wakanda) It was not revealed until the later half of the movie that his father died at the hands of his brother, king, and Black Panther, T’Chaka. Although Killmonger did not personally witness the death of his father, he found him with claw marks in his chest, thus leading to him having a Vendetta against the Black Panther and the people of Wakanda.

To be fair, I completely understand why Killmonger was angry. He had every right to be. He was left behind by his own uncle and forced to live a troubling life in Oakland while Wakandans chilled in paradise with their most powersul weapon and tool, Vibranium. I totally get it. I really do.

However, I know that anger is a hell of an emotion. When channeled correctly, anger can cause change. When left to fester over time, it is an explosive emotion that can harm anyone that comes in contact with the individual. This was definitely the case for Killmonger. He was angry about the treatment of Black people and his own abandonment issues, but failed to channel it to create a positive change in his neighborhood. Instead, he killed people as he worked his way to Wakanda.

All of this makes me wonder about how we are channeling our frustrations and anger. Are we inflicting pain on others because we are hurting and desperately want to be heard?

I know this world tends to forget certain groups of people and that is dehumanizing and frustrating, but how can we channel our anger into something positive so we do not become consumed by it?

I’ll leave you with these questions to think about. I hope to discuss the famous line from Killmonger in the next post. But until then,

Wakanda Forever!

--

--