13 Really Helpful Travel Tips For People With Autism/ADHD

The Essential Hacks You Need To Know About

Shamiha Said
ArtfullyAutistic

--

Image created on Canva by Author (Shamiha Said).

Contrary to popular belief, many autistic people also experience ‘wanderlust’ and want to travel the world, but a stipulation is attached to us. Although exploring new places can be exciting for most people, for neurodiverse people, it takes more than being organised to enjoy travelling. This is because travelling often requires navigation, physical energy and willpower to want to ‘keep going’ which can often leave you without many ‘spoons’.

How does autism and/or ADHD affect travelling?

Both ADHD and Autism are neuro-developmental conditions that affect the central nervous system which is responsible for motor skills, language, memory and social skills and concentration.

For myself, being autistic means that I am hypersensitive to bright lights and loud or sudden noises, and I become quickly overstimulated in crowded spaces. It means that I’m terrible with navigation and can’t tell my lefts from my rights, which means travelling to new places can quickly become stressful if someone else isn’t in charge of Google Map’s directions.

I choose the same places to travel to, as I find it comforting to visit a country I’ve already been to, and it requires me to use fewer spoons. I…

--

--

Shamiha Said
ArtfullyAutistic

10x Top Writer🏆& Number One Writer for Autism on Medium. Spreading Neurodiversity awareness one article at a time.