Calling All Autistic Translators

MJ Santos
ArtfullyAutistic
Published in
3 min readNov 3, 2022

--

By virtue of your neurodivergence, you already speak at least two languages to make yourself understood. Now we need your translating skills to help stop the extinction of all we love on the planet.

Photo by Jonatan Pie on Unsplash

I’ve been writing a lot of short stories lately, but this post is NOT fiction. We are in serious doo-doo, people. But I believe that autistic people can save the planet. It has to do with our atypical abilities.

We see patterns and can predict the future at times. We’ve also learned how to transmit complicated ideas to neurotypical people around us.

I’ve been listening to The Climate Book assembled by autistic activist Greta Thunberg. It doesn’t pull any punches. And it does a superb job of explaining how supremely screwed we are in every aspect, from soil erosion and food losing its nutritional value, to extreme weather disasters, mass extinctions, and so on. (Yes, the climate crisis is one of my passions.)

I don’t want to make Greta the poster child for autism and I hope she’ll understand if she ever reads this. I only want to point out some of the stellar neurodivergent qualities I see in her and many autists.

For one, she’s utterly devoted to what she believes in and doesn’t bend the rules for convenience or for popularity.

--

--

MJ Santos
ArtfullyAutistic

Trying to improve or at least distract the world one story at a time. 🏳️‍🌈Autistic immigrant in 🇵🇹