Light Through the Curtain

The first of a series of poems …

Ellie Jane
ArtfullyAutistic
Nov 28, 2020

--

From Science Focus

Preface

This is the first short poem within a series I am planning to write.
They all focus on a different sense and how they effect me as someone with ASD.
I will likely write a few on each sense but this is the first one.
It focuses on Light . . .

Light Through The Curtains

Bright lights dance across the ceiling

The curtain is only open a smidge,

but the sunlight zap onto my eyes.

making me squint and tuck my face back into the pillows,

which are scattered across my bed.

My eyes loathe it ….

Sunlight, bright light …

Anything above a dull glow …

The feeling of the warm sun

on my pale skin fills me with delight

Sunglasses are a must.

Lest I begin to rock,

or hum..

or just leave.

--

--

Ellie Jane
ArtfullyAutistic

Classist, Ancient Historian and Archaeologist who loves exploring a variety of topics: historical and personal