My Lightbulb Moments

Realizations I put together to conclude I am Autistic as well as ADHD

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

Created by author on Canva

Revelations

My son and I were each formally diagnosed with ADHD in 2019, and since then, I have been hyper-focused on learning every thing I possibly can about the subject.

Over the past year I started to suspect we may both be Autistic as well, and I’ve had a couple of people hint at it.

I’ve spent a significant amount of time over the past three months researching and writing about conditions that commonly co-occur with ADHD, referred to as comorbidities.

While doing this, I came across more and more similarities between being Autistic and ADHD, and found myself increasingly identifying with Autistic traits.

It’s funny when you take a step back to try to evaluate yourself as objectively as possible (of course it’s impossible to be fully objective, but I find it good practice to try).

There were aspects of myself I previously viewed as just part of who I am, so much so that I rarely noticed them anymore.

There were others that have always been a significant struggle for me, but I first chalked them up as character flaws, then later attributed them to ADHD.

The Final Five

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.