Stop Selling Autistic Strengths as “Superpowers” to Employers

Sarah Reade
ArtfullyAutistic
Published in
6 min readFeb 11, 2022

--

Photo by Fey Marin on Unsplash

It’s no secret that securing a job isn’t an easy task for autistic adults. It’s believed that between 75- and 85% of autistic adults are either unemployed or underemployed, meaning they work jobs that are below their qualifications and abilities, according to Marcia Scheiner in An Employer’s Guide to Managing Professionals on the Autism Spectrum.

While I am one of the few autistic adults with fulltime employment, it is not without great mental and emotional sacrifice that I am able to keep it. I’m overwhelmed with attempting to be normal and reaching for unrealistic expectations. The emotional toll is unrelenting. But to find another job is a monumental task.

I often feel trapped and beaten down. I’m exhausted from staying afloat in the rapids of neurotypical expectations, and there is no way out of an organization that doesn’t understand autism or how to support me. I live in fear of being fired.

Here’s the truth society needs to know: we want to work — we want to contribute to society and put food on the table. We want to feel empowered to reach our potential. Unfortunately, we live in a world where inclusion is almost non-existent. Not just for us, but for so many underrepresented peoples.

--

--

Sarah Reade
ArtfullyAutistic

A writer with a glass of red wine in hand and wondering where my curiosity will lead me.