Neurodivergence

The Day I Was Diagnosed Brought a Surprising Realisation

Helen Olivier (AuDHD)
ArtfullyAutistic
3 min readJul 3, 2023

--

I expected to have a completely different reaction

A young woman with Asian features and short black hair, with a rainbow stripe painted horizontally across her face and a little rainbow on her white T-shirt. A rainbow infinity sign is a symbol for the autistic pride.
Photo by Andra C Taylor Jr on Unsplash

June 18th was Autistic Pride Day.

I was diagnosed with autism and ADHD on June 18th. I was half expecting the former — it’s the result of several years of very intense soul-searching and contemplating and two years of waiting for a very thorough evaluation. The latter was a complete surprise to me.

When I thought about it before, I thought I will cry about it. I thought I was going to think of it as a big deal. I battled mental illness for my whole life. But this is not “just” an illness anymore, it’s a disability. I would be a disabled person.

This uncomfortable feeling has been fermenting in my head for years, growing in size. For years I have told myself one moment that I was clearly autistic, the next that I clearly couldn’t be, and I freaked out.

I thought that after my diagnosis, I’d write something like this:

“I found out today that I’ve been playing my whole life in the “hard” mode without knowing it. And I have been comparing myself to people who have this game called life set on “easy”. Wondering why I can’t catch up to them. Feeling inferior.

--

--

Helen Olivier (AuDHD)
ArtfullyAutistic

Neurodivergent, curious, overthinker, overfeeler. Find my thoughts, love letters to life, freebies and other stuff: https://linktr.ee/helenolivier 🧡