The Unexpected Consequences of Undiagnosed Autism, Like Wanting an Asian Boyfriend

My obsession continued for years

Kirsty Kendall
ArtfullyAutistic

--

An interracial couple — an Asian man with a white woman
Getty Images Signature/Canva

When I was younger, I was obsessed with having an Asian boyfriend. My obsession continued for years.

An Asian girlfriend would have done the trick as well. But I thought finding an Asian boyfriend would be easier, so that’s the goal I focused on.

Now, years later, I understand why I was so obsessed with Asian men. It wasn’t about them.

Like so many things in my life, it was about my undiagnosed autism.

It started with my obsession with Japan

As a teenager, I was super interested in Japan. It became one of my special interests.

That’s when my obsession with having an Asian boyfriend started as well.

When I was 17, I spent almost a year as an exchange student in Japan. In many ways, I was escaping my issues at the time.

Finding a Japanese boyfriend was one of my goals. Eventually, I reached my objective. He was my first boyfriend.

The relationship ended soon after I got back home.

But my obsession didn’t end.

--

--

Kirsty Kendall
ArtfullyAutistic

Topics: Autism, ADHD, mental health, fiction, funny & weird stuff. Visit my website: kirstykendall.com