Uschi Glas: “I feel fit and am enjoying life”

Actress Uschi Glas (79) wants to inspire reflection with her new film “Inga Lindström: Just Love” (October 1st, 8:15 PM, ZDF) on the topic of dementia, which “sooner or later affects most people directly or indirectly.” In an interview with spot on news, she also admits that she herself postpones dealing with it. In addition, the Bavarian film star gives tips for memory training and reveals whether the swimsuit scene in the film was uncomfortable.

You are playing a role in the 100th “Inga Lindström” film, while the “Rosamunde Pilcher” series is celebrating its 30th anniversary today. Do you enjoy watching these Sunday evening films privately? Uschi Glas: My husband and I are generally not big TV watchers. When we do watch TV, it’s usually sports. So, I wouldn’t stay home just for that. However, when I am at home, and colleagues I know and like are involved, then I enjoy watching “Inga Lindström” and “Rosamunde Pilcher” films very much. Besides, I think it’s right and important not to broadcast only crime shows every evening.

Both series are extremely successful. In your opinion, what is the reason for that? Glas: Beautiful visuals, a romantic story that both makes you laugh and touches your heart — that’s a good recipe for success, and it’s actually the purpose of a film, a story, a play to take someone on a journey of imagination.

You’re playing in “Inga Lindström: Just Love.” Why did you want to be a part of this film? Glas: First, the production said, “It’s about time you joined us for the 100th.” That was, of course, an honor for me. However, a film must appeal to me, and there must be something to tell for me to accept. That was the case with this film, which deals with the theme of dementia.

You play Anna, who has to deal with her impending dementia diagnosis. Since the diagnosis, she wants to separate from her husband Henrik (Leonard Lansink, 67), but he doesn’t want that. What did you think when you read the script? Glas: This theme interested me a lot because when I first read the script, I realized that there is no right or wrong. Every opinion and position is somehow right and understandable. Anna doesn’t want to be a burden; the idea of stealing her husband’s life is uncomfortable for her. I can understand that. But I also understand her husband, who says, “I want to be there for you. I still love you, and I am here for you in good times and bad.” I think the film can make many people think about how they would act in her place. The topic of dementia sooner or later affects most people directly or indirectly.

You play a woman who knows she is developing dementia. That’s quite a scary thought, isn’t it? Glas: Yes, it is a frightening thought, and it’s certainly a difficult experience to suddenly realize that you no longer recognize things. I can hardly imagine not panicking in such a situation. So, I understand when Anna says, “As long as I can still decide for myself what’s right and wrong, I want to make those decisions.” She’s right. Many things should be sorted out while it’s still possible because, eventually, time runs out. This is also true for living wills. It’s best to make those decisions for yourself. On the other hand, Anna excludes her partner. This can be helpful if you have a partner who doesn’t feel up to the challenge. But in this case, it’s different. Anna’s husband Henrik wants to be with her. People should think about these issues and discuss them in advance.

In the film, Anna’s husband Henrik doesn’t want to put her in a care facility. That’s generally one of the toughest decisions one has to make in this context. Are you afraid of having to make such a decision someday? Glas: I’ll be honest; I don’t think about it either. I feel fit and enjoy life, but I probably should think about it. But right now, I just can’t. Unfortunately, I’m not a good role model in that regard. However, I find it great that we’re telling this story in our film about this significant challenge in life.

Memory is particularly valuable for actresses. Can you share some training tips that anyone can follow? Glas: When I start learning a script, it involves a lot of repetition. Suddenly, it clicks, and I’ve essentially absorbed the words, and they flow out of me as if they were my own. It’s always a great feeling. It has nothing to do with age; it’s always been like that for me. When I finally know a script — whether for a play or a film — you can wake me up in the middle of the night and say, “Let’s shoot scene 27,” and I can do it. It’s a wonderful feeling.

Your swimming scene in a swimsuit in the film is quite impressive. Did you feel uncomfortable playing such a scene in front of a whole film crew? Glas: No, not at all. The only thing that concerned me during filming was that it kept getting later and cooler because it was already a cold day. But I just went into the water without much hesitation. I closed my eyes and went for it, and it surprisingly went well. In general, this swimming scene was an integral part of the film, and I didn’t find it forced or disturbing. So, it was okay for me. Also, I had worked with director Marco Serafini before, and I like him a lot, and you can rely on him. The crew and the makeup artist were great too. It was clear that no one was gossiping or anything like that. I felt comfortable.

Had you been to Sweden before? And how did you like it during the filming? Glas: This was my first time in Sweden for these film shoots. It was impressive to see such a flat country with so much greenery and water. Sweden is truly beautiful. Nevertheless, I am a child of the mountains. I grew up in Bavaria. I love Tyrol, I love my mountains. I could live in Sweden, but I would miss my mountains. I’m not talking about those deep, narrow gorges and high mountains; those are a bit eerie to me. But what we have in Bavaria or Tyrol, where the valleys are wide and the sun shines, I love that very much.

In the film, a Midsummer festival is celebrated. How did you like that? Glas: I really liked it. It was indeed Midsummer when we were shooting. And that’s when I realized that Midsummer is truly an important family celebration in Sweden. There is dancing and singing. It’s really something special, and I was very happy to experience it.

What can your fans look forward to next? Glas: We just finished shooting the family film “Max und die wilde 7” for the cinema. We shot the first part (2020) before the pandemic and the second one now. Günther Maria Halmer [80] plays the eccentric Professor Kilian von Hohenburg, Thomas Thieme [74] plays the former coach Horst Dobberkau, and I play a formerly famous actress who gets offended if she’s not recognized immediately. We live in the senior residence Burg Geroldseck. Together with little Max, the son of a caregiver, we solve criminal cases. Well-known children’s books serve as the basis, and they are gradually being adapted into films. It’s a fantastic team and a truly lovely project.

Your role sounds a bit self-ironic again, reminiscent of “Fack ju Göhte” (2013, 2015, 2017). Are you generally open to such roles? Glas: That’s true; my Ingrid Leimbach-Knorr from the “Fack ju Göhte” films was indeed a lot of fun for me. Such roles do require a good sense of humor, but fortunately, I have that too, thank God.

Hayo

Hayo

Hayo

Hayo

Hayo

--

--