Custom Wood Skin and Case by Carved

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2015

Natural materials have become more popular in the world of technology. People are starting to want leather or wood on their products to add a more organic feel to their products. I have been on this hunt for a while and I mentioned in a previous article that one of my favorite companies in this category is Carved. Carved makes unique wood products that are exceptional quality and intricate.

Custom Options

I have been purchasing products from carved for a few years now, but I have never bought one of their etched cases. With the demand for skins on the rise I decided to reach out to carved to and see if they could send me a skin. With their exceptional customer service they one upped that. They offered me an etched option, better yet a custom etched option. I chose to do my company logo and they quickly mocked it up and sent it my way. The result was beautiful.

The Details

In Carved fashion, the skin came with exceptional packaging. In the box they include a plethora of stickers along with a custom PO. On the PO there is a written and signed note from the creator thanking you for your business, LOVE, love that idea. For a simple small teamed company the little things matter and they know that. The skin that I received was in a cedar material, it felt and smelt great. The thing about natural materials, be it wood or leather, they offer not only a unique feel; but smell also. I know it sounds weird, but opening the package and smelling the cedar gives you this feeling of the outdoors. The installation was simple: clean off the back of your phone, peel the adhesive, align the skin, then press firmly. This skin does not offer much protection, as most skins do not, but it does offer the ability to lessen the scratches on the back of your phone. It also is thick enough to help with that pesky camera hump on an iPhone 6, which is my personal phone. I loved this skin so much that I purchased a traveler series case with the same logo and materials so I can switch to it whenever I like.

Don’t Go Any Further

Carved also excels in customer service, some of the best I have dealt with. I am not saying that as a reviewer, but as a consumer. One of the cases that I purchased in the past was peeling a little and they did not hesitate to send me a replacement with minimal effort on my part. If you are in the market for a natural material case or skin, Carved is one of the best out there. The only thing that I wish is that they make skins and cases for more products. There is some close competition in this market; but when you mix quality and customer service, don’t go any further.

Comment

Originally published at www.mindhungry.com.

--

--

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry

Digital Ops Consultant • Minimalist • Storyteller