Facebook is giving the user control

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2015

I know this is going to sound weird, but Facebook is giving the user control of their newsfeed on iOS later today. Facebook will be updating the Facebook app for iOS today and as reported by The Verge they will be adding four new features. They will be adding the abilities to: prioritize who you see first, discover new pages, unfollow people to hide their posts, and reconnect with people you unfollowed.

I can think of at least a few people that these new features will apply to…

I am not a huge Facebook person, but as rarely as I open my app I would rather see the people that I care about most. As for those “friends”, really acquaintances, I could just hide their stuff without hurting their feelings. This feature has been on desktop, kind of hidden away, but now it will be given to you as an option. I can see how the discover feature would be popular, if you like to consume information on Facebook, which is a growing trend. My biggest decision is do I “reconnect” with the people that I have “unfollowed”, of do I add more to that list?

Photo credit goes to The Verge

Full article at The Verge

Comment

Originally published at www.mindhungry.com.

--

--

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry

Digital Ops Consultant • Minimalist • Storyteller