The Weekender Watch from JDRT Review

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry
Published in
4 min readJun 19, 2016

--

I love watches. Over the years I have accumulated a decent collection. I have minimal Timex’s to flashy Invicta’s in 36mm to 46mm variants. I don’t lean toward any particular style but I do go through phases of preference. As of right now, I am loving functional and classy. I love to wear a watch that looks polished and stylish yet feels comfortable after sweating for hours in the Florida sun. Something that breathes on your wrist but catches the eye of a passing watch connoisseur. I think I have found just what I have been looking for with the JDRT Weekender.

The Weekender was sent out to me from JDRT in Sydney, Australia and from the moment I unpacked the box I was impressed. The packaging reflects the product inside: understated, elegant and appealing. The watch itself, without a band attached, was laying right on top: gold stainless steel with a silver face. The hour and minute hands match the color of the watch with an accenting red second hand. The branding marks are simple and don’t overpower the watch itself. Beneath the watch I found three different colored bands rolled up with obvious care. The overall packaging was easy to work with and complimented the watch well.

After skipping the reading of some paperwork I anxiously took out all three bands and attached one. This is where JDRT and the Weekender stand out. The watches from JDRT do not have a traditional method of attaching bands. There are no lugs or pins that need to be fussed with to attach one. The bands in the box are one whole piece, from buckle to end. I was shipped two styles of bands, silicone and fabric. The silicone band that was sent to me is blue, JRDT calls it “Marina”, and I have to say this is the softest feeling silicone band, ever. It is not sticky or a dust magnet. The silicone band offers a casual look, but still screams quality. The other two bands were fabric, red which is known as “Chili Canvas”, and olive green which is “Army Canvas”. Both of the fabric bands were extremely comfortable and great for extended wear. They breathe well and dry quickly when splashed with water or dealing with humidity.

The Weekender tells time and that is all. There is no date, month, or stopwatch, which is perfectly fine with me and actually refreshing. I love the simplicity of the Weekender. It maintains style and functionality. The best part of it is the ability to customize it to your style or specific outfit. I have used the Weekender as my sole watch since I received it. The face and body held up well during my three weeks of use so far. The silicone band looks and feels brand new. Only the Army Canvas (green) watch band showed any wear, which was minimal, and only around the one notch that I used to fasten it. This is pretty common with fabric bands so no need to fret.

I do not only recommend the Weekender from JDRT because of style and functionality, but also value. The model of the weekender that I have is one of the most expensive models from JDRT and it is only about $170 USD. That is an absolute killer price for a beautiful watch. If you want a versatile, attractive, affordable watch, you need to checkout the Weekender from JDRT.

Originally published at mindhungry.com on June 19, 2016.

--

--

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry

Digital Ops Consultant • Minimalist • Storyteller