One Week With Apple Music

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry
Published in
4 min readJul 7, 2015

Ever since streaming music evolved with the creation of Spotify I have been aboard the streaming train. I have loved my time with Spotify but I have always wanted Apple to create something with their immense music database. When Apple Music was announced at WWDC my dream came true. June 30th rolled along and I made sure it was on all my Apple products immediately. I have spent one week with Apple music and this is how I feel so far.

The Setup

If you have ever used Beats Music, the setup will be familiar. Apple Music is available on iOS and iTunes for OS X and Windows, but the setup and general experience is going to be the same. You will select what genres of music you like by tapping on them one or two times, the more you tap them, the more you like that genre. If you would like to remove a genre completely, just press and hold it. The only other choice you have to make is if you would like your three month free trial to be family or personal. This process was easy and fairly intuitive, especially because I have used Beats Music before. Once the setup is complete, you now have free rain over iTunes, and all its glory. There is only a few select artists not available for streaming, such as the Beatles, but the rest is ready for listening.

The service consists of: For You, New, Radio, Connect, and My Music.

“For you” is a collection of recommendations from the setup step. These recommendations are fairly spot on if you put the time into it. If you didn’t do this, it will learn what you like if you “heart” music that you like, as you are listening to it. I personally have found some really cool artists and songs here, but it did take some work from me.

“New” does not have any specifics to your taste, it is just the newest music out. This part made me realize how not hip I am, basically made me realize that I am getting old. I did find some new music there, but mainly music that is over played on the radio.

The next portions is Apple Musics crown jewel, Beats1. Beats1 is a great idea, a 24 hour world wide radio station. Now this is where I really have found some good music. Beats1 rotates through four DJ’s a day. Their styles and skills are all different, which is perfect. Beats1 is diverse and fresh everyday so far, I have only changed it a few times, when it gets too out of my taste.

“Connect” is the next feature that is supposed to revolutionize the music industry, imagine Soundcloud with the reach of iTunes. This hasn’t been that useful for me personally yet, but I see it becoming more so as time passes.

The last is really not a feature that is marketed, but to me the biggest deal is search. With Apple Music you can search by tapping on the magnifying glass and stream almost anything in the iTunes library…..AMAZING! This is what I have been dreaming for since the first time I tried iTunes. But wait, it gets better. Not only can you search and stream within the music app, but you can also get Siri to do it for you. Siri has always been able to stream a song in your library, but now she can stream almost any song in the iTunes library. You can ask it to “play music by Taylor Swift”, and it will. It will get played right from Apple Music, as if you had it in your personal library, I would never have Taylor Swift on my phone…….right!?

Does it have a downside?

Apple Music does have its downfalls. Most of them have to do with the UI. The interface looks pretty at first glance, but it can be a little overwhelming to the average user. I signed my wife and I up for Apple music. I personally have not had too many issues with it, but my wife is having some problems. She is pretty damn technically savvy too, but unless you knew what you were getting into, or watched way too many impressions videos, you may have a few issues. My biggest gripe is the disconnect from the Apple Music app to iTunes. The Apple music app feels more finished than iTunes. You can add albums or songs with ease on the Music app, but iTunes there at least two additional steps for everything. This would be ok if iTunes was the more powerful solution for using Apple Music, but with the help of Siri the Music app is actually the more efficient way to listen.

Will I keep it?

I am very happy with Apple Music so far. I am really more excited to see what it evolves into. I love the idea of Beats1 and Connect, but the future iterations is what will truly take them to the next level. If you have any Apple devices that can be upgraded to the latest and greatest, give it a try. The three month free trial is definitely a good way to test out the service to its fullest. I will be checking back in with you guys in three months to tell you if my opinion has changed, but my guess is that I’ll like it more.

Comment

Originally published at www.mindhungry.com.

--

--

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry

Digital Ops Consultant • Minimalist • Storyteller