Reiko Wireless iPhone 6 Plus Phone Cases

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry
Published in
4 min readJun 30, 2015

There are hundreds, if not thousands of cases for an iPhone. As a tech journalist I get the honor to test cases all the time. Some cases I can recommend wholeheartedly, some I cannot. As a case manufacturer you have to present a proposition value to your customer, and that proposition usually boils down to quality or value. Well today we are talking about value. If you are in the market for wholesale cases for iPhone, this may give you another vendor to work with, or not.

Who are they?

Reiko Wireless is a wholesaler right out of my home town Brooklyn, New York. They also have an office in Miami, quite close to where I am living now. So if I had any more reason to be bias, I’d tell you to stop here and buy all their stuff, but I am never bias. I was contacted by Reiko wireless to review a few of their cases, and of course I said yes. I received their cases quickly, their shipping couldn’t have taken more than three days. I was in contact with one of their marketing people and if his professionalism was a reflection of them as a business, they are doing a great job.

Memories

At first blush the packaging is a little, ehh. You have to consider this is a wholesaler, so packaging isn’t a priority. Getting product to a vendor for a good value is. I popped out cases and I was immediately brought back to my teenage years, buying a case from a mall kiosk, and haggling the vendor for a better deal. That is the average venue in which these are sold, and that’s ok; remember, value.

Kickstand

I went for the plain black one first, the Reiko Wireless iPhone 6 Plus Dual Layer Kickstand Case. It is made up of a hard TPU style material that feels surprisingly soft to the touch. This matte black case seems to feel protective, but it does add a tiny bit of bulk; nothing to worry too much about, but bulk. It offers a lay on the table design because it is sporting a hefty lip around the display. All ports are easily reached with standard cables and even some third party. The hattrick for this case is in the name, there’s a kickstand. Having a kickstand on the iPhone 6 Plus is uber useful, most people are consuming media on a 6 Plus. The downside, and it’s a big one, is that power button. The power button on my unit is so stiff that it is forcing my device to power off. I was not able to use this case for in depth testing because of this sole reason.

Bubbly

Second up was the Reiko Wireless iPhone 6 Plus Slim Dual Color Hard Cover Case. I asked for any case that is black and/or green, being that those are my favorite colors. This case was both of those, a bright and shiny green, paired with a matte black. The bright color is not the most unique visual aspect of this case, the shape is. The corners are round and more bubbly than most. This is because the Slim Dual has some form of shock absorbency on the corners. Like the case states, it’s thin; not shockingly thin, but thin. There is a lip for lay on the table, but not as much as the kickstand variant. This bright green protective case even sports a lanyard hole if you need to attach a bungee cord for dramatic effect. The only real downside about the slim dual is its ports. The holes are too deep, unless you are using all stock accessories you will not be able to plug in any peripherals.

Quality or value, your call

I do not think these cases are the worst on the market, but they do need improvements. Reiko wireless is a wholesaler, and as far as that, they are pretty decent. Wholesale cases are not supposed to take awards or be your favorite case you’ve owned, they exist to be a great value. If you are not a wholesale vendor you will not be able to buy directly from Reiko, but they may be able to guide you to a local vendor. In some cases all people want is a great value over aesthetics or engineering, and if you fall into that category they are a great place to check. I personally do not fall into that category, I’ll take quality any day.

Comment

Originally published at www.mindhungry.com.

--

--

Thor Schroeder
Mind Hungry

Digital Ops Consultant • Minimalist • Storyteller