A Hands-On Comparison: Gemini Pro vs GPT-3.5

And the winner is …

The PyCoach
Artificial Corner

--

Image created with Midjourney

Last week, Google integrated Gemini Pro into Bard and, in this article, I’ll compare it with its direct competitor GPT-3.5. We’ll see how good both are in writing, reasoning, and code generation.

This article will be useful for those who use GPT-3.5 often and would like to see whether using Gemini Pro is worth it.

Note: Google’s Gemini Ultra (the GPT-4 competitor) isn’t available yet. For more info about Gemini Ultra and what I think about it, check this article.

General requests: Writing, roles, and personal assistance

First, I used Gemini Pro and GPT-3.5 as personal assistants and asked them both to help me plan my next trip.

I’m traveling next week from California to New York. Show me flights to New York and hotels near Central Park

Thanks to the latest Bard update, it connects to Google apps such as Flights and Hotels to provide real-time information.

Bard can also connect to your personal apps such as Gmail and Drive to give a customized experience…

--

--

The PyCoach
Artificial Corner

My ChatGPT Course - ChatGPT Unleashed: Master GPT-4 & Prompt Engineering: bit.ly/chatgpt-pycoach