Welcome to Artificial Heart

Jacob Malthouse
Artificial Heart
Published in
1 min readSep 22, 2019

This is a series of posts about my experience at the United Nations in Geneva from 2000–2005. I was a key leader in the architecture and development of the Principles for Responsible Investment.

The PRI has since become the closest thing that capitalism has to a heart. It’s a simple set of six principles that is now backed by about $60 trillion dollars.

Me on the left. Geneva, Switzerland, 2002.

What’s interesting about the story is not how successful it has become. What’s interesting is how unlikely it is that it ever got started in the first place. My goal is to tell that story from my point of view.

It’s not meant to be an accurate history of the PRI. It’s meant to be the story of one person’s experience with intrapreneurship. With building a sandcastle that becomes bigger than the sandbox you built it in. It’s about assumptions we make about one another. It’s about risks and individual leadership.

If you’re building something, or just interested in how little things get big, I hope you’ll like it. I’ll be posting about every ten days. Posts will be in draft, and I welcome comments, criticism and feedback.

--

--

Jacob Malthouse
Artificial Heart

I love to explore connections between technology, society and planet.