When I was in a movie called “Super Salaryman”

Prowpannarai
artipania
Published in
5 min readJul 29, 2022

Never had I ever imagined I would be in a film or even be a part of the industry; after all I don’t live in LA or Mumbai. This changes around the summer of 2012, when I was still an Urban Design lecturer at Thammasat University. At the time, I was saving up for a donation to the Stupa at Sri Apaiwan temple, Loei province of Northeastern Thailand.

One afternoon I received a phone call from an old college friend. We were in the Drama Club together back then. He asked if I had time to audition for a role in a film. I thought he wanted me just as an extras or maybe this was a low-budget independent film and I’m not a professional. Anyway, I said I’d do it for a friend.

On the day, there were a couple of other women who would also audition for the role. Next, we met an assistant director and a casting coordinator. They gave us a character brief and scripts from different scenes. To my surprise, I was auditioning for a supporting role not just to be an extras.

While waiting, I talked to them. They were already working in the film industry and knew each other. One of them was an acting coach while the others were drama school’s graduates and a singer.

Feeling nervous, I told the acting coach that I had not acted since college and didn’t not really sure what to do or how to do it. “It’s ok sometimes you just have to do something new in your life” was what she said.

During the audition, we had to memorize the lines quickly and had to improvise a bit to carry on some conversations in each scene in front of a camera. Since we were in the same room, I got to see the other women’s acting and I was so impressed. I imagined how they would make great characters in the film. When it was my turn, I faced my fear by telling myself that this was going to be a unique experience and I acted as if no one was watching. A couple of days later the casting coordinator called to tell me that I had got the part.

A movie promo-poster (I was also in the poster)

Let me tell you about the movie. The movie is called “Super Salaryman”. It’s a drama-comedy film about the chaotic life of white collar workers. It was produced by Sahamonkol Film International in partnership with Workpoint Entertainment PLC. The leading actor is Tik Jedsatapon Pholdee, a famous artist who won several prestigious national film awards. I played a small supporting role with the other two actresses I had never met before since we auditioned on a different day, as subordinates of the main supporting actress, Tonhom Sakuntala Tienpairoj, a famous female comedian/DJ who carries the comedic part of the film. These characters are always in a pack (imagine the movie Bridesmaids). So we have to look convincing as close friends.

Throughout the acting workshop before the actual filming, the four of us had to spend time getting to know each other. We had to share information; not just favorite food or songs, but bad habits and some embarrassing stories. The acting coach provided more details of each character’s background. The character I played is a timid office lady, a little bit air-headed, has a crush on the protagonist, and always wears pink and ruffles. Since it’s a small role, the personality of the character was not complicated.

Behind the scene (in the fake elevator)
Another movie promo-poster
One scene from the movie
We were playing games during the break (the guy on the left is Tik Jedsadapon)

Very few knows that my drawing was also used in the film. The leading actress’ character loves to sketch because she wants to be an illustrator rather than an office employee. Through out the story, she draws or doodles people in the office. However, there’s one scene which the film crew did not prepare the illustration for and the artists they hired to produce them were not available. The director knew I could draw so he asked me for the drawing in the scene. It’s the scene where the actress was angrily sketching evil-version of the protagonist. When I saw it in the movie, I was extremely proud of the drawing, even more than of my acting. Unfortunately, it was credited under those artists’ names. After its release, the film was both profitable and highly acclaimed. Two supporting actresses and one supporting actor were nominated for several national film awards. One of them won!

My illustration in the movie
The starring role (upper left) with other supporting casts
More promo materials
During the break, we were told to act in a specific way.

Being a part of this film, I learned a lot. I experienced first hand how creative people in a film industry work, which is so valuable. For my personal growth, I got to be a different person for 2 months, got to try something new, went to different locations, met new and interesting people, and endured physical and emotional stress caused by acting. However, at the same time, I created a bond with the film crews, actors and actresses, and still keep in touch with some of them ( not the famous ones of course) and often time while shooting, we had a blast. Yes, it is absolutely once-in-a life-time experience for me!

Surprisingly, the amount of money I was paid after filming was exactly what I was saving up for. So I got to donate twice the amount I had in mind, from the saving and from the movie. I was deeply grateful for this opportunity.

The movie is now streaming on Netflix. If you’re interested in this film, check it out!

--

--

Prowpannarai
artipania

I design to help people learn & change behavior. a Learning Experience Design Director at Artipania, Stanford /D.School/UCL/Arch Chula alum. www.artipania.com