For The Birds

Photography

Joanne Olivieri
Artique
2 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

All photos by author Joanne Olivieri
American Kestral
Wilbur the barn owl

I am a bird fanatic. I speak bird, hear bird and breathe bird. Just ask my pet bird, Sammers. He will tell you I’m the crazy bird lady.

Its always a challenge to photograph birds as they are always moving and you have to be able to capture their photo within a moments notice which means you have to be very patient. A pro photographer once told me in order to get photos of birds, you have to position your camera with a tripod or steady hand and just wait for the bird to appear in your sight then snap the photo. Much of it is just luck.

He was so right. Neither did I ever have a tripod nor steady hand but I was able to capture some great photos in the past. A few of them are pictured above and I will have much for you in the coming weeks.

I remember my first bird photo when I was at the gardens I saw a little bluebird perched on a bench and I tiptoed around him so as not to scare him and snapped his photo.. It wasn’t a great shot but I was thrilled! I got my first bird shot!!

Anyway, now I have my own little Sammers, pictured above, who I take photos of, daily. I’m a happy, crazy bird lady.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Joanne Olivieri
Artique

Published author, poet and photographer. Love birds, animals, food, art, books, music. Contact jmcojo@gmail.com - https://medium.com/@jodapoet