Gibbous Moon

Delfino
Artique
Published in
Sep 15, 2022
Gibbous Moon, travertine & marble mosaic, 12" diameter, ©Delfino Cornali 2022

This is the fifth of a series of eight stone mosaic stepping stones destined to be set within the bounds of our thyme garden. Whenever I see a gibbous moon, I can convince myself I can see its dark section. I wanted this piece to show the intrinsic beauty of the stone by using larger tesserae.

The “bright” side of the moon is a composition of Persian red travertine and Aegean silver marble; the dark side uses Teos green marble and Scabas travertine; the border in a copper yellow marble.

--

--

Delfino
Artique
Writer for

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.