PHOTOGRAPHY | ART

Canvasses on Iron Caravans

Art will find a way — expressions in Graffiti

Arpad Nagy
Artisanal Article Machine
4 min readMay 10, 2024

--

Photo by author.

I’d like to think I dedicate myself to doing most things well. I’m a professionally accomplished, certified chef. I’ve successfully survived years working on drilling rigs and managing complex field operations. During my few years in civil construction, I laboured to build bridges, tunnels, and roads. I handle myself well on extended excursions into the high alpine, fly fishing, hunting, and camping in places where roads and civilization are far beyond cell service.

But I’m lousy with a camera.

It’s a tough one to explain, but it’s a failure that annoys my photogenic, photography-studied wife. She is great with a camera and has several, digital and the old kind (the ones with film). Her criticism, while a tad harsh, is justified as she spent several years in college studying photography and digital arts.

She’s excellent with a camera. I can’t frame a face.

My usual photographic offerings are selfies, my smartphone propped on a riverside rock while I kneel in a crystalline river, holding a trout. Or pictures of food. Most of my human snaps focus on my kid, playing hockey or rugby or when we’re camping and fishing.

--

--

Arpad Nagy
Artisanal Article Machine

A Proud Hungarian-Canadian, throwback romantic who loves to write. Editor @ Kitchen Tales,The Short Place (Fiction) The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, The Book Cafe