I’ve Been Collecting Something for the Past 50 Years Without Even Realizing It

A discovery made while moving

Paul Combs
Artisanal Article Machine

--

Image: Wikimedia Commons

I’m a book collector; anyone who has read even a few of my articles knows this. I briefly collected baseball cards as a kid and had a good number of Hot Wheels cars for a time, but books are the only thing I’ve ever really collected. Or so I thought.

I am in the process of moving from the DFW Metroplex to East Texas, which requires the unmitigated beating that is packing all my stuff. Besides the things in my apartment, in order to stop paying an insane monthly amount I have also emptied a storage room I’ve had for years. And as I’ve been unpacking decades of accumulated junk, I discovered that without ever realizing it, I have been collecting something else since I was eight years old.

Rosaries.

If that is not at all what you expected, you’re not alone. I didn’t even fully grasp it after opening a box I taped up 25 years ago (and have hauled from move to move ever since) and found this:

My very first rosary (Photo by author)

That, my friends, is the rosary I received just prior to my First Communion in 1974. If you’re a guy of a…

--

--

Paul Combs
Artisanal Article Machine

Writer, bookseller, would-be roadie for the E Street Band. My ultimate goal is to make books as popular in Texas as high school football...it may take a while.