Moving Past Basic and Learning That I’m Cheugy

Why am I always the last one to know?

Judey Kalchik
Artisanal Article Machine

--

https://pixabay.com/service/license/

I was almost reconciled to being Basic.

Depending on where you look Basic is almost generic. Unexciting. Plain. Unoriginal. Could mean naïve. Unsophisticated. The thing is, it’s been around for years now, since 2013, so I’m kind of used to it. Basic is practically a classic.

But now my world is rocked and I think I’m cheugy.

Pronounced CHEW-gee, it laughs at Basic. It’s another level of mean, and when I read about it (because that’s how Basic I am!) all of the signs are there: cheugy.

Cheugy has been around since 2013, too, but has now been reborn on TikTok (or Reels for the Boomers who use Facebook and have just discovered ‘Hey, honey- now there are cats on Facebook videos’) and the Gen Zs and Millennials are tossing back and forth at each other.

Cheugy is being an interested fan of things that USED TO be on trend years ago, instead of things that are trending right now. I must admit: that is me all over. I read a list of the stuff that mean you are cheugy and there’s no denying it. And, as it turns out, to admit that you know you know definitely means you are a cheug (chew-g).

--

--

Judey Kalchik
Artisanal Article Machine

I write the truth as I see it. Twice a Top Writer. Follow me to see my writing on your homepage, subscribe for free and get an email when new content appears!