I Am Forgiveness

A poem about forgiving.

Poetry of Mac
Artistry Liberation
Nov 22, 2023

--

Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

To the depths of my ruins,
I long to be (living shock value proof of)
mercy gleaned.

A murderer kneels before me,
(his war goes before me.)
A gun & a decision.

Say it after me: “I am forgiveness.”

Revolted into a tomb of bygones,
I don’t burn bridges over water.
When “all water under the bridge,”
is spoken, so have I.

I am forgiveness.

Enveloped in limitless care, boundless love, & timeless freedom,
(though traces of a bitter seed to an anger weed sprouting,)

I am forgiveness.

As the perpetrator falls at my feet,
covering me in the kisses of a man with trepidated tears,
I feel no strain:

I am forgiveness.

--

--

Poetry of Mac
Artistry Liberation

Lifelong North Carolina writer earnestly seeking to heal through poetry.