The Art of Forgetting.

Salem Zikora
Artistry Liberation
2 min readJun 18, 2024
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

I want to trash him so bad. Facts have it that, I already did.

But after I successfully lose consciousness of him, he gets featured in my dream.

In these dreams, he’s always coming to me still unrepentant and I find myself wondering;

“Why have you come?

If you’re not willing to repent, why did you come then?”

Sometimes I find us arguing, other times, we manage polite civility.

We didn’t necessarily fight in reality or “fall apart”.

Nothing that dramatic.

Atleast not that I know of.

Trust me, I have tried. I have reached out over and over again.

Nothing.

Maybe there really is nothing. Just the Nonchalance of fingers, oiled to lose grip of my hand.

Today I woke up from another of that dream.

I picked up my phone and sent a text.

Not that I wanted to… “subconscious” is the word yeah?

“Hey Johnnn”

Anyway, I juat saw that I did. Repeating the last letter of his name three times.

I know the response so, for fun I type it in my chat box and wait for it to drop.

It drops and I nod in satisfaction as every letter corresponds with the words I’d written.

Heyyyyyy Zikoraaaaaa

I nod in satisfaction and close the chat.

I can see it now, it’s a pattern. But I don’t even bother to ask God why.

I just continue my life as I await his next visit. “Dear John, see you next time.”

--

--

Salem Zikora
Artistry Liberation

Writer | Scriptwriter l content writer /ideation Personal essays keeps us in touch with our feelings. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/Salemzikora